We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Monte Vista Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Monte Vista Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the location, right in downtown, with free parking. The rooms and decor were dated, with carpets needing renewing. The rooms could have been cleaner, as the carpets had crumbs on still. No breakfast included, so a little on the expensive side. Stayed 2 nights in August, so we could see more of Flagstaff, a great little town, but if we ever went back we'd find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    138
    75
    49
    81
See reviews for
52
167
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

On my second trip to Flagstaff to deposit a daughter at NAU, I thought it would be fun to stay downtown as it has a great vibe, good food and atmosphere. I booked the "Monte V" as the locals call it. Our first indication of something amiss was when the front desk clerk advised that while they do not have bellmen, the bouncers are more than willing to help. Our "Penthouse Suite" was 2 small, separate rooms with lockable doors connected by a small corridor with a small bathroom. The red, black and gold decor was garrish, and the red carpet smelled old and musty. The windows are nailed shut around a window A/C unit and although loud, not loud enough to drown out the boistrous noise of the partrons leaving the bar at 2am who decided to hang around outside our window for another hour chatting and laughing. We learned that anyone in the know would ask for anything but the 2nd floor as that is where pets are allowed and it is right above a very popular bar. I had asked if there was another room available, but they were sold out. When we checked out in the morning (2 nights ahead of schedule) we were not even asked why. The lobby and Rendevous lounge are lovely, too bad the 2nd floor leaves much to be desired.

Room Tip: Some rooms are featured in photos in the lobby...ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Each room is different and named for a famous person who has stayed in the room. We stayed in the Jane Russell room (312) which is the "red" room as in everything is red (walls, ceiling, bedspread, etc..). The room was large while the bathroom was small. The bed was comfortable. This was a fun place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OppTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

A perfectly situated hotel in the centre of busy cosmopolitan Flagstaff. The hotel has a certain 'seedy elegance' that errs on the side of charming. some rooms are named after previous famous guests which is a nice touch. There is an excellent bar adjoining the hotel with nightly entertainment. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyjamesduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff were arrogant from the first interaction. Halfway between checking us in the front desk guy started chatting with other staff members for 10 mins.
Parking is very limited. If you don't mind walking two blocks then there is enough public parking.
The location is great. But that's it with anything positive.
Our room wasn't made up for the second night. This was dismissed as a glitch without apology. "the maids have gone home already, do you need ME to make your bed?"
After having to ask for it new towels were provided. This time I got a "heartfelt" apology after asking how this could happen: "sorry sir".
The rooms are very noisy, the doors slam, the beds squeak (yes, we could hear someone going at it at 6:30 in the morning).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crissy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

we had left new mexico that morning and crossed the northwest part of arizona coming on hiway into flag from the north our biker buddy dennis was waiting out on hiway 89.....so we headed into flag our first... stop a c store for a coke... and directions ... we were sent on south to a bar on silverado road east side of hiway 89... in there a couple cold beers later and directiions were given to downtown and we told to told to visit the monte vista... parking is tough so we parked in their parkiing lot... and headed out on foot .. i went to the check n counter and a lovely and pleasent young girl... told me about the hotel and its rate... i talked to bob and dennis and 2 of us stay here so we wnt for a beer to think it over... and ended up at an irish bar on old route 66.........the pulled pork sandwiches were great...and wow... they had leninkugels summere shandy on tap a great beer.... while the boys stayed there i went and checked into the monte vista..... all the rooms are named i got the alan lad room and the boys got the bobhope suite.. i went back and got them out of the irish bar and we went to check in.. first stop cocktail lounge...ii is great on the lower floor.. a small bar with tables and a great barmaid sally... i had a draft beer and found out they sold monte vista glasses with draft beer... so bob came in and we each bought one... then we looked at the t shirts and she even modeled one for us....and iwas ready to buy but no 2x ...the rooms were done up pretty neat old school ........and the lobby was right out of a movie...with a martina bar right beside.. ....i love the monte vista because we were right downtown on route 66.......if you travell 66 this is the place to go

Room Tip: i love the alan lad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Absolutely loved this place. The rooms are not ritzy, but clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, with several great eateries around. The Hotel has a Lounge with pool tables, making having a couple of cocktails and pool games fun, without worrying about getting a DUI. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. Upon learning that the parking lot was full, the guy behind the counter went out and moved his car to the street, so that we wouldn't have to. The bartenders were fun and friendly, and the Thai food place next door was amazing...we will definately be back...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tGypsyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.5 mi away
The L Motel Flagstaff
The L Motel Flagstaff
#46 of 64 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Property: Hotel Monte Vista
Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing