We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overnight motel option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Flagstaff University West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
London, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Overnight motel option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here after a long drive from LA en route to Monument Valley. I had pre-booked my room incredibly cheap online and therefore don't have much cause for complaint, but I feel obliged to comment that Travelodge's own photos flatter their property, and not by just a bit either -- they flatter it dramatically.

The building exterior was old and tired (the green astroturf stuff on the concrete walkways has definitely seen better days), our room was outright dirty in places (e.g. the windows and sofabed), and the wide employment of extension cords instead of wall outlets in our room made us a bit nervous. Fortunately, the two things that matter most to us (the bed and the bathroom) were both clean and comfy, and we were out the door early the next morning anyway. The TV selection was rather limited but the wifi was fine. Muffins and danishes were all that was on offer for breakfast so we went to the Galaxy instead.

This isn't a Comfort Inn or a HoJo with interior hallways to your room, it's an old school exterior access motel. But if you can book your room super cheap and don't mind slumming a bit for one night, then this might work for you too.

Room Tip: Ground level is probably better for vehicle access but you might get noisy people overhead, so try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello threadhead,
Thank you very much for your business. I apologize that you felt unsafe during your stay about the electricity extension cords in the room you were accommodated and I regret that we did not satisfy your preference on the overall quality of clean as well as the breakfast selection. Please know that we use our guests’ feedback as reference in our effort for continuous improvement to serve our guests better each time. Allow us to offer you improved accommodation the next time you travel and visit Flagstaff. Should you have concerns during your next stay, please do not hesitate to call the attention of our staff. I assure you, they will be more than happy to attend to you.

I look forward we could serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    105
    57
    60
See reviews for
133
94
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

--There are three Travelodges on the same stretch of this road
--Nice size room
--Comfy bed(s)
--Clean.
--Complementary wifi.
--Front desk was not the friendliest.
--There's plenty of parking.
--A bit noisy in the area - there's a train that runs frequently nearby.
--Great location; near lots of shopping, restaurants and parks. The Goodwill is across the street.
--About an hour from Sedona.
NOTE ABOUT THE DIRECTIONS: if you are coming from the main road, when you come up the hill, look for the Days Inn sign because Travelodge's sign is blocked by a large bush. The Days Inn is right next door and they basically share a parking lot.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room that is not facing the railroad tracks. Not sure if that will be helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello kim-ohradiogirl,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for letting us know what you did and didn’t enjoy during your stay with us. Please know that we use our guests’ feedback as reference to help us identify the aspect/s we need to improve trust that we are continuously working hard to be able to provide quality accommodation at best value. I hope we could have another opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding the Travelodge as it was set back from the road. The check-in was speedy. Our room was spacious and had tables, couch, desk, fridge, & microwave. We were able to use wi fi. It was cold the night we stayed and we were grateful for the heater which went all night.The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. However breakfast was a disappointment. It was very basic with only a few choices. The food was not of Travelodge standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Nan S,

I apologize if you had a hard time finding our establishment but we are pleased that the room provided for you has met your expectations. We appreciate your comment about the breakfast presentation. I will bring this to our management. I assure you that they will evaluate and address your concern accordingly. I hope we could have another opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here on our way from LA to Page Arizona. We needed a inexpensive place to sleep so we booked this. It was a little hard to find at midnight but for the price we got it at, not bad. It had a breakfast, not the best for the price we paid, it was ok. The place is a bit run down, can most definately use an upgrade.

The name NAU conference center park was misleading. It's doesn't have a conf. center, it's a small motel.

We needed help with our car bumper which fell out the night before and the maintainance guy Jesus helped us. He was fantastic. Thanks Jesus.

Room Tip: It's next to Days Inn, set a little back on the same lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel, I apologize for the inconvenience you faced in locating our place, I will submit your feedback to our management as I am sure they will look into this matter and address accordingly. We appreciate your candid comments, please know that we use our guests’ feedback as reference to help us identify the aspect/s we need to improve trust that we are continuously working hard to be able to provide quality accommodation at best value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pros: the room and bathroom were clean. But this motel is very, very dated and it shows. It is conveniently close to services and stores, but the street in front is very busy and there's a freight train track immediately behind the motel. The bathroom ceiling was bowed in from a leak above, the tub stopper didn't work, there is no pool and the gentleman at the front desk was having a very bad day. Breakfast is very poor. The old-style design puts a single, large window at the front of the room by the door; you must have the drapes closed all the time. I would not recommend. Instead, find one of the many, many newer motels in Flagstaff with better amenities. Don't be tempted by low prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySF2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello SandySF2000,

Thank you very much for your business. I regret that we failed to meet your satisfaction during your recent stay with us. I will accelerate your review to verify the status of the room our staff have provided you, the quality of customer service you received , and the breakfast selection. Trust that this will be carefully evaluated to address accordingly. Please know that we value your business and trust that your concerns will not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My reservation last night was simply horrible. I had to call the police to get drunk guests out of the parking lot (outside my door) since the hotel staff refused to ask the drunks to disperse.
I would have rather slept in the trunk of my car than stay there!

Do not STAY here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktvail1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Ktvail1212,

Please accept my apologies for unpleasant experience during your stay with us. I will submit your feedback to our management for evaluation and to verify why you were not attended accordingly by the staff on duty. Trust that your concern will not be disregarded. Thank you for your business and trust that they will implement necessary corrective measure to handle this kind of inconvenience differently in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Flagstaff University West

Property: Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Address: 990 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011, Our property features 100% Smoke free pet free rooms. Our room choices include King Suites, Double Queen rooms and Double King rooms. All rooms feature Wi-fi, Microwave, Fridge and coffee makers. We also offer a complimentary Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Travelodge Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Flagstaff - Nau Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing