We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stop for us.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wupatki National Monument

Wupatki National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$741.39*
and up
Private Grand Canyon Complete Tour with Ancient ruins and lava field
Ranked #2 of 100 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore this fascinating ancient pueblo, located near the San Francisco Peaks, which once housed almost 100 members of the Anasazi and Sinagua tribes.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quick stop for us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We drove through the park, but only stopped to do one hike at the Box Canyon and Lomaki Ruins - we were already pretty tired. Our kids did enjoy seeing the ruins. It would be nice to spend a few leisurely hours exploring more of the area, it is very peaceful and beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RZolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    396
    68
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Series of ruin communities. Can see how dwellings were organized for certain activities to be performed in specific rooms.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bveo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

There are several sites that are part of the Wupatki National Monument. There is a small site that you can actual explore and a larger site where the welcome center is that you can do a self guide tour around. This is definitely a must see for anyone who likes history or remembers studying the pueblo people. It is on the edge of the painted desert so there are some really amazing vistas to see between here and Flagstaff. We have a national parks annual pass but if you dont, you can pay for access to this monument and you get two others in the area for free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wupatki National Monument= Amazing Family Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

WOW! This place is not only one of the most fascinating places I have ever been to but the visual imagery is phenomenal and breathtaking. The entrance fee was a nominal $10 for our family of four. (Kids ages 13+14) You couldn't ask for a better way to spend the day with you kids. You get to touch the history and walk through time inside the pueblos and surrounding areas. There are two pueblos you can visit. Both within a short driving distance between them with plenty of easy parking. Truly beautiful, a family memory we will never forget. We give it 5*****'s

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Flagstaff MUSTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of my favorite places here. I always take visitors to explore this magnificently preserved site. I love Lomaki, too, which is one of the first ruins, just across from Wupatki. Be sure to drive the entire loop road!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank logan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wupatki National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wupatki National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing