We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient, but still fascinating”

Wupatki National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$741.39*
and up
Private Grand Canyon Complete Tour with Ancient ruins and lava field
Ranked #2 of 100 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore this fascinating ancient pueblo, located near the San Francisco Peaks, which once housed almost 100 members of the Anasazi and Sinagua tribes.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ancient, but still fascinating”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sister park to Sunset Crater, this is a well preserved ruin of the Sinagua tribes circa 1100-1200 a.d. Very fascinating - kids of all ages will enjoy the up close views of these homes, ball courts, ceremonial circles and blow hole. Cost is $5.00 and will allow entrance to both parks - just show your receipt. Take a hat, sunscreen and water. Please take your time to read the information provided to help you understand the presence of each artifact.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    413
    69
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Flagstaff Area Favorite”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our second trip to Wupatki. The ruins are very accessible, and are unique from others in the area. The entrance fee is steep, but if you are seeing the Grand Canyon and other parks in the area, buy and Annual Pass and entrance is free. You will not be disappointed if you include this in your plans.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jr Ranger”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We loved visiting the ruins, and my grandson received another badge for his Jr Ranger program. The surrounding mountains and scenery was magnificent. Everything is alittle far of a drive but the views were awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoLinda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wupatki National Monument”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater and Wupatki all in the same day. Ranking the 3, I liked Wupatki, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater (in that order). I was very surprised at how much I liked Wupatki since my research had me thinking that I would like the other two better. If you only have time to do one of these, I would visit Wupatki.

The scenic drive from Sunset Crater to Wupatki was nice.

It took us approximately 4 hours to visit all of the Pueblo's in Wupatki.

Recommend you bring food as there is nothing nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting; get a guidebook!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent half a day and visited Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater and Wupatki. All are worth a stop if you have time and interest. You can pay one fee ($15) and see both Sunset Crater and Wupatki and drive the scenic loop, stopping at interesting sites all along the way. I must say, however, that the docent/ranger(?) who checked that we had paid the fee was extremely unhelpful. All he said was, “The large pueblo is through those doors,” and then resumed talking to his coworker. He failed to point out that we could buy or borrow a guidebook – at the pueblo there are numbered signs. That would have been nice to have, because the large ruins are really beautiful. Make sure you get one because, as we discovered after downloading a PDF on the drive home, it’s really interesting!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank taeshatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wupatki National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wupatki National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing