We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Wupatki National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.99*
and up
Ancient Spirits of the Canyon from Sedona
More Info
$146.49*
and up
Comprehensive Grand Canyon Tour from Sedona
More Info
$162.93*
and up
Full Day: Grand Canyon Complete Tour from Sedona
Ranked #2 of 107 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore this fascinating ancient pueblo, located near the San Francisco Peaks, which once housed almost 100 members of the Anasazi and Sinagua tribes.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

There are two reasons to see this monument. One is to see the actual monument which is incredible. The second is that on the way to the monument, you can see the Painted Desert in the distance as well as the San Francisco Peaks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    452
    74
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic mixture of structure and setting”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited the Wukoki, Lomaki, and Wupatki sites. The first two visitors may go inside, and Wupatki has a nice interpretive trail. They are actually quite different from one another so all worth a visit. Aside from the natural transition from more bare red rock to scrubland to grasslands that could have been plucked from Wyoming, it was interesting to see how each building works with and around the rocks they are built on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Well worth the short drive off Highway 89”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I didn't know what to expect here . We combined it with the Sunset Crater and this was just the after thought . This was much more interesting to both my son and I . I can't imagine people living in this inhospitable area . The colors of the ruins , as well as the surrounding land matched with beautiful deep blue skies makes for great picture taking .
Don't miss the Wukoki Pueblo , just down the road from the visitor's center . I just wish they had a trail that would take you a little east of this ruin so you could frame a good picture of the ruins in the foreground and the snow capped San Francisco peaks behind .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very interesting and wonderful views”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Being British we do have lots of history, and appreciate other countries History; the great expanse of land also was amazing, for my husband and I to see. The information centre was very well layed out, we went on to the Cameron Trading Post they have an excellent selection of Indian made jewelry. Gypsy Cabs ( Brian from Flagstaff) took us on this trip, as the snow was bad we could not visit, the Sunset Crater.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really neat and a short walk”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

AT the end of a long day this was our last stop prior to bedding down at the Cameron Station Lodge. Fortunately the walk was short and well maintained, VisitorCenter was small but nice. Of the three NAtive American sites we visited on this trip (Wupatki, Walnut Canyon, and Montezuma's CAstle) this was the most complete and best maintained. Very enjoyable little trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wupatki National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wupatki National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing