We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby to Flagstaff and so interesting”

Walnut Canyon National Monument
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See millions of years of history unraveled in the geology of the rocks at this popular scenic and historic hiking area, once populated by the Sinagua Indians.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Nearby to Flagstaff and so interesting”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A quick side trip off I-40 and well worth the visit. In January part of the trail was closed for repairs, but we got a great view of the cliff dwellings (and only had to go down 200 steps) anyhow. As always, the National Park Service does an excellent job-the visitor center displays were very helplful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    428
    64
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
297 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“One of many Sianagua pueblos”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There is a small visitor center, with a few displays and a 20 minute video. A steep trail (maybe 150 stairs?) allows you to view cliff dwellings on the far walls. Toward the bottom of the trail, they have reconstructed several rooms to show you their dimensions.
There is also an easy rim trail but it is less fascinating, unless you are interested in botany.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very accessible way to see ancient civilizations . . .”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Right off of the highway, you can hike down (beware : there are many steps down to the trail into the canyon - probably not advisable for some people) and see the ancient structures that were built into the hill. We visited during the winter and the trail was under construction, but time constraints didn't allow us to stay long anyway.

Absolutely worth the stop and at least take in the view from the top!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
422 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Amazing place It was worth my time.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing place it was worth my time. We have a wonderful experience, the facilities were clean, they have a water fountain so you can fill out your bottles/camelbacks the staff was helpful and my kids enjoy the view.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jptravelswithfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing scenery. Didn't get to stay very long due to time constraints, but I plan to go back to visit and explore this area more! We recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Canyon National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Canyon National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing