We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip!”

Arizona Raft Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arizona Raft Adventures is a family run business operating 6-16 day rafting trips, as a licensed rafting tour operator within Grand Canyon National Park since 1974. Our adventures are both motorized and non-motorized (paddle or oar rafts). We believe that a trip down the mighty Colorado River, through the Grand Canyon is the trip of a lifetime, composed not only of exciting whitewater and world class scenery, but also lots of exploring and hiking in the many wondrous side canyons. Our adventures provide the time to experience it all, so come play with us in Grand Canyon!
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was an amazing trip. Our guides were experts on the history, stories, and geology of the canyon, were great cooks, and made sure our every need was met. They did a great job of tailoring our trip to the abilities and needs of our group, including our special-needs son, active teenagers, and older parents. Everyone had a wonderful time and I highly recommend AZRA to anyone thinking about a Grand Canyon raft trip.

Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Arizona Raft Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi Denise,

The guides and support staff (and Milo - the dog) for your trip, also enjoyed spending time with your lovely family! Thanks for taking some time to review your trip on TA. We hope to see you all again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bright angel trail"
in 25 reviews
"trip leader"
in 18 reviews
"motorized trip"
in 14 reviews
"lower canyon"
in 14 reviews
"river trip"
in 13 reviews
"lower half"
in 8 reviews
"pre trip"
in 9 reviews
"fabulous trip"
in 6 reviews
"grand canyon"
in 141 reviews
"big rapids"
in 6 reviews
"lee's ferry"
in 10 reviews
"day trip"
in 22 reviews
"lava falls"
in 4 reviews
"river level"
in 3 reviews
"classic trip"
in 3 reviews
"amazing company"
in 3 reviews
"lead guide"
in 4 reviews
Filter

201 - 205 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My experiences with AzRA have never disappointed me. The overall experience is truely awesome. From the first contact the customer service is considerate and friendly. The guides are knowlegable, professional, safety oriented and fun. The food is incredible and always more than enough. And what other location can measure up to the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River.......very very few indeed. I would encourage anyone to take a "run thru the ditch". By the way, I have a physical limitation in my left leg --- the guides were more than accommodating to ensure both my safety and my enjoyment throughout the entire 14 days.

Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Arizona Raft Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Linda,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your trip. Glad you had another great adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There is nothing like this on planet Earth. Of course the breathtaking scenery is a given, and there is nothing that compares to seeing it from the bottom up! You can read all sorts of glowing reviews on the web, so let me offer a little different perspective: First, you need to go with a company called AzRA. With a 100% Excellence rating, the decision is easy. Wherever you are right now, you can be on a plane tomorrow, and be on the Colorado River the day after that. There is no other adventure on Earth that is this accessible. If you are not sure about spending a couple of weeks camping out, you only have to be able to do two things: Eat and Sleep! The meals are all provided for you, and it is all good. Sleeping in a tent, or under the stars, is very easy to get used to. You won’t hear any complaints about it. At the end of a day of river running or light hiking, sleeping comes naturally. If you are concerned about running whitewater rapids, believe me, it is FUN! Watch some YouTube videos. It only looks exciting because it is! You won’t hit anything big until you have been on the river for a few days. You will quickly realize that you are in good hands with the AZRA guides. By the time you hit any big rapids, you will be used to the feel of the boat. Don’t let this be the reason for not doing this trip. It is an experience that you will remember and talk about the rest of your life. Daily activities usually include some “off the river” time, like hiking or exploring. There are always options, like hanging out around the boats reading, relaxing or exploring, if you are not up for hiking that day. Finally, something that you don’t hear much about is the “group” experience. You will be with two dozen like-minded people, ages from the 20’s to the 70’s. Everyone, including the AzRA guides, are there for the same reason: total enjoyment of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River. The group is usually a nice mix of singles, relatives, and friends traveling together. The group quickly becomes familiar with one another, and sharing the experience of the Canyon with travel mates is an unexpected pleasure. Plus, those experienced guides are right in there with you having fun. If you are unsure about doing something like this by yourself, it is a special shared experience that you need to do at least once in your life. I have been down the river with AzRA 3 times, and have made reservations for a 4th trip next summer! They are the best. I can’t wait to do it again.

Thank DavidLauraArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Arizona Raft Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear DavidLaura,

We appreciate you taking your time to write such an all-encompassing review of your 3rd rafting trip and are happy to hear you had such a great time and that you have had amazing experiences going down the river with us every time! It is amazing how trips can be so different, yet still be the best trip ever isn't it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just came back from the full Canyon eight day motor trip. Two boats, 24 guests, four guides. I won't repeat all the superlatives. You can see from the reviews that no one is disappointed.

Our guides were the model of calm efficiency, teamwork and energy. They were always thinking of how to best match the trip to our diverse needs and desires, Katie in particular. Here are some examples:

They did an incredible job accommodating the disability of one guest. We were all very moved and pitched in to help.

They let our twenty something sons "drive" the boat a couple times on the calm stretches.

Katie broke out the guitar on a long hot afternoon, got one son to play it, got the other son to do rhythm on the water cooler and led the ladies in an impromptu dance party on the foredeck of the boat. What a hoot!

They let the boys swim through some of the tamer rapids. Not to let them have all the fun, we all joined in on the last one.

They brought candles to decorate the nightly fresh baked cake, one night as a surprise for our anniversary.

Although the sound of the motor was very slight, they turned it off several times and urged us to enjoy the majesty of the deep deep silence.

We could go on but you get the idea. Here are a couple things you should know about a wilderness camping expedition, but are beyond the control of any river guide:

We went before the monsoon season. The river was lovely and clear. If you go during the monsoon, it can be "too thin to plow and too thick to drink." (Not to worry they have an elaborate water filtration system on board.)

Because there was zero rain, it was HOT HOT HOT, (105 degrees plus) especially mid-day. But we all learned to keep cool by jumping in the icy water, wrapping in drenched sarongs, and getting splashed by the rapids. And there was always a breeze. Sometimes a strong breeze. Our trip leader always managed to find a sliver of overhanging shade for our lunch stop.

Packing out the "solid waste" and using the single communal commode ("the groover") took some getting used to but it was a small price to pay. And you will never have a commode with a better view.

Bathing in 50 degree water will take your breath away. It gets a little warmer during the last few days.

The gravel Indian-reservation road out from Diamond Creek will rattle your bones. You just have to suck it up for an hour.

If you can handle a few of these things, DO IT, DO IT!

Thank JonathanCalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Arizona Raft Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Jonathan,

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your trip. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your adventure on TA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are considering a river trip through the Grand Canyon, the only rafting company you should do with is AZRA. We just returned from 9 days on the river with the best guides I've ever been with--and I used to be an adventure-based trainer/facilitator. First off, the most important thing: safety. This team of five (both women and men) were an awesome team. Totally competent to navigate even the biggest rapids. And our paddle boat guide continually turned a bunch of wanna-be paddlers into a crew that made it through Lava FallsL So--you're in safe hands. Second of all--they clearly take care of their rafts and equipment; everything was in great condition. They took us on great side hikes to see incredible aspects of the Canyon that very few ever see. And they did a wonderful job of taking care of us. When we settled in the for evening--we enjoyed incredibly delicious food. They empower everyone on a trip to push just a little beyond their limits, but only enough so that you end your trip knowing you've done something that only a very few people ever do. I can't recommend AZRA highly enough--a 5++++++

Thank CheriTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Public Relations Manager at Arizona Raft Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Cheri,

We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your trip! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We think the caliber of our guides is one of the aspects of our company that makes an already amazing trip really stand out and we are glad you noticed. Our guides work hard to make your trip extra special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Raft Adventures also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Arizona Raft Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing