We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowell guide to the stars”
Review of Lowell Observatory

Lowell Observatory
Ranked #3 of 107 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lowell Observatory, founded in 1894, is a non profit astronomical research and educational outreach institution located on Mars Hill one mile west of Flagstaff, Arizona. For visitors, the Observatory offers telescope viewing, exhibits and science center, daytime guided tours, safe viewing of the Sun, multimedia programs, shows in the McAllister Space Theatre, special events throughout the year, and an astronomy gift shop.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lowell guide to the stars”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went there with my son in law an Air Force colonel we both loved the place. The guide was great, with us and the kids. Loved the stories of putting the building up it's use over the years and it's history of finding Pluto. And I don't care what they say it's still a planet! If you want food go to a restaurant if you want history go to Lowell

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank joseph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    371
    120
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The tour guide was geared towards children, which made most of what he said boring. What made this most interesting was going into the historic observatories, including the one used to discover Pluto in the early 1900s. That itself made this worthwhile.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Arrived at 16.30, and nothing happening, and little enthusiasm from staff for visitors being there. We kept being told to come back to various parts that would open 'in 20 minutes'. Nowhere to get a hot drink, and very cold. When one telescope eventually set up, we queued to see the moon, but actually viewed it better with our binoculars. The next observatory also supposed to open imminently, but staff seemed more interested in talking and joking with each other, and visitors milled around doing very little. We left, feeling it a wasted hour. Perhaps they have to open to the public to secure funding, but they showed no interest in any visitor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go at night!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went in late afternoon and took a couple of the tours led by docents. Interesting, but lots of screaming kids on the tours...Did the 3D Mars exhibit which was pretty cool and watched the Mars Lecture/slide show. Then when it got dark we were able to look through the monster telescopes and view the moon and Jupiter. That was worth the trip by itself. My only complaint is that the Rotunda Museum is not open to just go in a browse. There has to be a tour going on or staff inside. We had time to kill waiting for sunset and wanted to go in and look around, but could not. The volunteers and staff were so good. It was very obvious that they enjoy what they do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent an afternoon going through the Mars exhibit (amazing 3D images, wear the glasses furnished) and taking the Mars tour with a wonderful docent. There's another tour that immediately follows about Pluto. The observatory is open many evenings for viewing, though hours are reduced starting November, and we picked an off day. The exhibits and historic buildings are fascinating, especially the building housing the Clark telescope, which features amazing wood construction and an old, Jules Verne-like telescope. Best idea is to come for the tours in the afternoon on a day they have evening hours, then return for the evening viewing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rcatesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lowell Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing