We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Lowell Observatory

Lowell Observatory
Ranked #3 of 107 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lowell Observatory, founded in 1894, is a non profit astronomical research and educational outreach institution located on Mars Hill one mile west of Flagstaff, Arizona. For visitors, the Observatory offers telescope viewing, exhibits and science center, daytime guided tours, safe viewing of the Sun, multimedia programs, shows in the McAllister Space Theatre, special events throughout the year, and an astronomy gift shop.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Got to turn the rotation of the dome where the Clark telescope was. How many can say that? Would like to go back and see more at night.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindaai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    372
    120
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“make sure that you go at night!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended both an afternoon tour as well as an evening - the view of the moon at night was PHENONMENAL! The staff did not appear to be very well organized though. The RECORDING on the phone re: hpouirs needs to be clarified stating that the LAST presentation is at 4:00.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank selectivediner022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would have enjoyed more time”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a quick visit for us...with a little more time I'm sure the experience would have been more rewarding. We did enjoy our "Pluto walk" and the information learned from our guide.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlandmonk
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good show”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a good show but the view through the telescope was a little disappointing, I think they would have done better to show the moon rather than a small blob in the distance!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Night Skies”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived just after sunset, which is a great way to avoid the long lines. We first went to the upper Observatory and were able to view a star cluster through the big telescope. There were also some smaller telescopes set up down closer to the entrance. The staff is very knowledgable and enthusiastic. We also spent some time in the library looking at the exhibits detailing the personalities, events and equipment that shapes the Observatory's history. I had long been looking forward to visiting the Lowell, and it did not disappoint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lowell Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing