We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO good with kids!”
Review of Oaklands Mansion

Oaklands Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hidden gem in the heart of Tennessee. Visit today to explore beautiful Oaklands Mansion. While here, see the native tree arboretum with walking trails, heritage gardens and natural wetlands of adjacent Oaklands Park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO good with kids!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Connor gave us THE BEST tour! My 2yo was being difficult, and Connor sat right down on the floor with us, from room to room. He was crazy knowledgeable, wonderful with my 8yo's constant random "facts" and did a great job bringing any of our thoughts or comments into the scene. I ask a boatload of questions, never expecting anyone to know everything...but he pretty much did! Beautiful grounds, super nice people at the gift shop, too...and a playground on the side. We drove 45min to get there and it was well worth the trip. Its as good as Carter House, Carnton Plantation and Lotz House here in Franklin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank megb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklands Histor... ., Docent at Oaklands Mansion, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I'm so glad you had a wonderful visit! I always enjoy hearing what kids have to say about the Mansion and listening to their questions. Come see us again during December when the home will be dresses for Victorian Christmas.

Sincerely,
Connor Moss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour of Oaklands”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited Oaklands on Oct. 15, during which time the house was exhibiting mourning customs of the period. The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. A short film summarizing the house's history is given in the visitors' center/gift shop, preceding the walk-through of the house. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and added much information. (He worked for the national park service and was on furlough -- this was during the Oct. 2013 government shutdown -- so it was very good of him to give the tour!) We highly recommend a visit to Oaklands.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Oaklands in Murfreesboro, TN”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a beautiful home and the grounds were more like a park. Coundn't take pictures inside home but all you want outside. Not that much walking to do here. Our tour guide did a great job telling us about the home and the back ground of the original owners. She was a young girl and I am sorry I don't remember her name. The museum was interesting too and there is a short film before touring the home. I really had never heard ot this place before but I am very glad we went there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited this lovely place earlier this week and we are so happy we did. It is just wonderful. The grounds are just lovely also. We were in Murfreesboro visiting a friend whose granddaughter had gotten married in the event facility on the grounds several years ago. She did not get to tour the home at that time so we were so pleased the home was open for tours when we went. We learned a lot from our lovely young guide. The home itself is so beautiful. The history of it and its part in the Civil War were fascinating. The only negative thing I could say is that there were only 3 of us on the tour and yet the guide literally shouted throughout the entire time. All of us had headaches at the end.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan and Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic home.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the mansion and grounds early in the morning. The interior was not available for touring when we were there, but we took many exterior photos of this beautiful old home. Well worth the stop and we hope to time it better to be abale to go through the home on another trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaklands Mansion also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to Oaklands Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing