We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and great tour guide”
Review of Oaklands Mansion

Oaklands Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hidden gem in the heart of Tennessee. Visit today to explore beautiful Oaklands Mansion. While here, see the native tree arboretum with walking trails, heritage gardens and natural wetlands of adjacent Oaklands Park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
az
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting and great tour guide”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a very interesting and informative tour with Bob as our guide. Bob took the extra time to answer all of our questions. The tour started with a video and than about a 50 minute tour of the house after that we walked the grounds. We also recommend the Stone River museum and battle sight which is very close by and allow at least an hour there to read all the information provided and watch the video. A driving tour is also at the Stone River visitors center area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    43
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“With vacationing friends”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our tour guide was great. We had been to Oaklands before but this was the best ever. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and even offered to take pictures with our camera for us. Great visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration - interesting tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an extremely well done restoration which provides tremendous insight into the past. The video wasn't working the day we were there, so we probably missed some useful background, but our tour guide was quite informative. I would have liked to linger even longer. If you're like me and don't find the exterior appealing, don't be deterred! This is definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“always somthing new”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our garden club had a demonstration and tea and Oaklands. Staff and volunteers were very informative. On going projects help keep this museum fresh. The home furnishing change slightly from summer to winter.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lascassaslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I visited last weekend. If you want to relive a piece of history this is the place to go!!! Raina gave us an enthusiastic and very informatve tour of this beautifully restored plantation that was once abandoned !! She described how both the confederate and union armies stayed there during the Civil War and Jefferson Davis even stayed there!! Thank goodness for the group of ladies who got together and saved it!!! We are going back this fall when they have a reinactment!!! This is a MUST see!!! Thanks, Raina, for sharing all your knowledge with us and your enthusiasum!!! Soooo good we waived the discount!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaklands Mansion also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to Oaklands Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing