We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting trip back into time ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaklands Mansion

Oaklands Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hidden gem in the heart of Tennessee. Visit today to explore beautiful Oaklands Mansion. While here, see the native tree arboretum with walking trails, heritage gardens and natural wetlands of adjacent Oaklands Park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting trip back into time ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my visit here. The tour guide was enthusiastic and interested in telling me about the home and the families who lived there. Interesting "hair wreath" in one of the rooms. Beautiful old home with an interesting history. Worth the time ...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cesIL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    41
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best of the House Museums”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Oaklands tells the story of the Maney family and of the Civil War. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank tenntraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
357 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“An intriguing house museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Oaklands lies a bit under the radar, in a residential neighborhood near downtown Murfreesboro. The entire attraction is the antebellum home, a mixture of Federal and Italianate architecture owned by the Maney family, about whom you learn little during the tour. The interpretation focuses almost exclusively on the furniture and the uses to which the rooms were put, which is standard stuff for privately-run house museums. The staff is friendly, there is a small gift shop and a film that precedes your visit. If you like 19th-century homes, you'll enjoy this unusual dwelling.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Given the history surrounding this home, the tour could be so much more than it is. I was disappointed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real historic gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My friends and I toured Oaklands mansion today and really enjoyed it! We started off with a short 15 minute video at the visitor center next door to the historic home. Our tour of the mansion was fantastic!! It is clear that our tour guide loves not only the history of the home but of the entire area. She was very professional, personable and informative. Oaklands mansion has quite a collection of pieces that date back to the family and the rest are all authentic period pieces. Only the floor coverings and wallpaper was reproduction with the exception of one room that had period wall to wall carpeting. This home is true to the period and truly worth a look! They also featured additional exhibits in a large room off the gift shop all of which is included in the very reasonable admission price. If you love history do not miss Oaklands. It is truly a historic gem!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Stern36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaklands Mansion also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to Oaklands Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing