We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a eggstential delight!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Egg and I - CLOSED

The Egg and I
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
148 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is a eggstential delight!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

When you first walk in it is hard to tell what you like the most. The restaurant is decorated beautifully and yet somewhat whimsical. When seated, the server Kim introduced herself and offered me an assortment of beverages. The menu was just what I had hoped it would be. So many egg choices, wow. I wanted to see what they would do with a simple dish so I ordered scrambled eggs hard with cheese and an English muffin.

OMGoodness! The eggs were the best I have ever had. Light, fluffy, cooked hard but still soooo tender. I also received a very generous portion of hash brown potatoes. Bonus.

This is a restaurant I would go to every day if I could.

They also have sandwiches, but if you are going to an Egg place, why would you order a Reuben?

This place has amazing food, great service, great atmosphere,what more would you want.

I'm telling you, I am still thinking about those wonderful eggs today. I am going back in 2 days. I can't wait!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A great addition to the Borro. Good breakfast great choices. Location is a little hidden. It is behind the Red Robin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bkcarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place for many breakfast choices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The wait was a little long, they looked a little understaffed, and the food was not piping hot. But all of the food was good, as ordered, and the service was good. The sausage is not typical southern breakfast sausage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hostess ever!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We started going into the Egg & I in M'boro as soon as they opened and rec ommend it to everyone we know. We have been there about once a week ever since we found this place, until just recently. When we first started going there they greeted you enthusiastically at the door and made you feel so welcome. But now they seem to have a system for seating thier guests that is solely about the convenience of the restaurant with no concern at all for the patrons. Three times now we have arrived to find empty tables in clear view, but they still made us stand and wait in the foyer until they were ready for us to be seated. I love this restaurant. The food and the service are exceptional. Once get seated, everything is wonderful. But unfortunately, we will not be returning to this restaurant for one reason.... they apparently do not value our business. They need to know that we are not there for thier convenience. There are so many choices of establishments that would appreciate the fact that we chose to spend our money with them, why should we continue to subject ourselves to this total disregard. The worst part is that management was more concerned with making excuses than in corrrecting the problem, so we went to Mimi's and had a very enjoyable experience there. That will be our "go to" place from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
204 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Glad I Accidentally Found This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

On a rainy Saturday morning that I planned to go to yard sales, I stopped by this establishment when it opened at about 7:00 on a Saturday morning. I did not really know what to expect. However, I was pleased to see an extensive menu and free wireless internet. I had the eggs benedict and was very pleased. I saw pancakes some of the other parties had and they looked very good. The staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. This place that I accidentally found when turning around in the strip mall parking lot was great. I will definitely be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNDisneynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg and I also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing