We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown To-do's”

Cannonsburgh Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Cannonsburgh Village is located on 6 acres in Murfreesboro, and represents approximately 100 years of rural Tennessee life from the 1830s to the 1930s. The village features a gristmill, schoolhouse, telephone operator’s house, the University House, the Leeman House, a museum, a caboose, the wedding chapel, a doctor’s office, general store, working blacksmith’s shop, a well, and other points of interest, including the World’s Largest Cedar Bucket! The village is open May 1 through Dec. 1, Tuesday through Saturday, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and on Sundays from 1 until 4 p.m. The village is closed December through April, although the grounds are open year-round. Guided tours are available for a small fee, but self-guided tours are free. The Visitor Center has a variety of items for sale including crafts from over 20 local artists, postcards, T-shirts, snacks, drinks and souvenirs.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hometown To-do's”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have a soft spot for this place due to the fact my relatives helped bring the Village together. The general store there was owned and operated by my great, great uncle which was moved from the Link community in Southern Rutherford County. It is a representation of what "Pioneer" living would have been like in Middle Tennessee as all the buildings were structures moved from various parts of the county. This Village is also home to the World's Largest Cedar Bucket and Uncle Dave Macon Days, which a local blue grass festival in honor of Grand Ole Opry Star Dave Macon. It's a great place for family pictures and killing time while walking on the Greenway around the city. There is even a small church located there in which I have attended several weddings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    50
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only during Dave Macon Days...usually the 1st or 2nd of July”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

$5.00 admission ...Uncle Dave Macon Days....live music...Ricky Saggs was there July 2013. Arts....crafts...anyone with a banjo, guitar or any musical instrument is welcomed to perform anywhere they are find room. Jazz...country...bluegrass. No rap or rock. Takes you back to the olden days of one room schools...courthouse...etc....all still on site. It is an all day affair for families, couples of anyone. Face painting for kids...or adults if so wanted....so much to see and do

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately we went on a Monday which is closed day, however, we were able to walk around the premises and see all the vintage structures. Authentic log cabins; many old tractors for tractor buffs; one room school house; outhouse; caboose; church and so much more. We spent an hour there even tho it was closed. A great photo op for people who love old structures. There are ramps for wheelchair access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mko1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needed to fill some time. Nice quiet place.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Free! Yes it is. You may make a donation if you wish. It was a nice enjoyable walk through the village of old cabins. It was cloudy and some light rain which only kept the crowds away. We had young children and two teens. There is a lot of history here and not much for 2 and 4 year olds. They enjoyed walking around though they don't really understand any of it. We have been here before. This was the first time here that we did not come during "Uncle Dave Macon Days". If you get a chance come then, but expect a crowd. Overall a great place and wonderful to see the ongoing work that has been done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bbqkeith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap way to kill a few hours with the family.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap and easy way to kill a few hours, and we found it. There are a handful of buildings to look into but not much in the way of interaction. The kids didn't care about looking back in time but it was a good place to relax. The museum is an assortment of odds and ends with little or no explanation of what they are.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamagradys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannonsburgh Village also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to Cannonsburgh Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing