We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a bad place to stay in Murfreesboro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay in Murfreesboro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This Country Inn and Suites is a good place to stay when you are in Murfreesboro. True, the swimming pool is out of comission, but everything else at the motel is fine. The frontdesk personnel are cheerful and helpful. Our room was very nice and quiet. The breakfast was much more than a carbohydrate overload. We would be happy to stay here the next time we are passing through Murfreesboro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are working towards fixing our pool for our future guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    67
    56
    42
    35
See reviews for
141
44
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is our 5-6 stay at this CI&S because my son attends MTSU. The first few times we stayed we didn't have any problems. The last 2 times we have. We were to stay in 231. We had stayed in this room before, and I wasn't thrilled about being in it again because the lighting in the bathroom is horrible. We quickly dropped off our stuff and then left until late. When we came in and turned the air down a roach was crawling on the unit. My husband went down to tell them. The guy at the desk asked how many we saw. My husband said ONE and that's enough!!! They moved us to 208. I immediately said oh great that's the room with the noisy that never stops while you are sleeping. We had been in that the room the last time we stayed, and they had to move us in the middle of the night. So we get to 208 and there is something disgusting on the wall and ceiling. The next morning I see a dead bug against the bathtub. The noise was still an issue. I go to the front desk and share all of this with them. I said I would do a review and I hated to because it wasn't going to be positive. She said I needed to do it anyway. She offered to move us. Who wants to pack up and move?. We had already done that once. She said the room would be thoroughly cleaned before we returned for our second night. The bug was gone. The stuff on the wall and ceiling wasn't. They left towels with holes. Needless to say, we won't be staying there anymore. We don't ask for much when we stay at a hotel. All we want is a quiet, clean room with a good bed!!! CI&S can only deliver on one of those items---a good bed.
Also, on a side note. It is almost impossible to get out on Thompson Dr. The traffic is awful. You can forget turning left.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 231 or 208!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srjpJohnsonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We appreciate the concerns regarding the room issues and the difficulty in accessing the hotel from the main road. We are taking appropriate steps to make sure all of our rooms meet or exceed the expectations of our guests for cleanliness. The insect was dead and visible because pest control had just treated the hotel that day. We have corrected the noise issue in 208, and we now have a secondary road which makes access to the hotel much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel was a little hard to find, but was well worth the time to find it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and it was quiet. We all got a very good night sleep after 10 hours on the road. The front desk was helpful in every way. Exellent dinning very close by.
.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you chose our hotel and had a enjoyable stay.

Jackie Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice place, just didn't think it was worth what I paid... no elevator and small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Our prices vary with special events and seasonal occupancy, but our highest rates are less than $150 per night for our best rooms. We are sorry that we do not have an elevator, but we are happy to give first floor rooms when requested.

Jackie Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blessedwife1
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN THE OTHER WAY! This was the worst hotel my family has ever stayed in. The only reason we ended up here was because I had no reservation and it was late. Oh the front lobby was nice but when you get to the room it was nasty! First I found a long black hair in my bed sheets! Yuk! The carpet is very outdated and they told me the carpet had been cleaned a few days before and yet my 8 month old baby had black knees from crawling.The lady next to to our room had a baby and said hers were the same way. Than there was the bathroom. The shower curtain had a yellow film on the bottom needing cleaned! The tub would not drain the water after my shower and my hubby and kids could not take a shower/bath! Oh yea they offered me another room but who wants to move everything along with a baby and a 2 yr old! The water faucet in the tub made a really loud noise when you turned it on. There is no elevator so you have to drag everything up and down the stairs. The internet service was broke and another guest even told me "Good Luck" as he used their front desk pc. Than to top it all off we needed ice in our cooler for traveling and the ice machine was broke! So the manager had to drag ice in from outside. SAD! Even after all the problems we had and more I had'nt even listed the management would not give me half off the room. I ended p paying 71.15 for something that was'nt even worth 29.99! We left and went to a Marriot for the next few days!

Room Tip: Don't put yourself through this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blessedwife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review as your comments allows us to correct the incovienencies that occurred during your stay at our hotel. We are truly sorry that our ice machine and internet was not working particularily during your stay, however we tried our best by providing the ice and offer to use our computer in the office. We do not have an elevator at our hotel but we will be happy to provide rooms on the first floor upon request and availability.

Jackie Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed one night on way to Fla. As others mentioned, no one was at the Front Desk when I arrived. There were 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids) so they gave us a 2-queen suite, with a pullout sofa. It wasn't until we were unpacked that we realized the AC was not blowing cold air. When I notified the front desk they said they would mention it to the repair person...no mention of another room nor discount on the room itself. We had arrived late so we were in no mood to move so we didn't press the issue.
We were anxious to get going the next morning and naturally the breakfast opened late. The offerings were OK, but only OK. While we didn't use the pool, I did look at it. If you put more than 6 kids in it, it will be crowded.
CI&S has already been a good choice in the past, but this one just didn't live up to its name. If staying in Murfreesboro again, I'll probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluegrass_Sojouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnmurfre, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank your for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to eliminate these issues so that our future guests will not be disappointed as you were. We now have an access road to the main road for our guests to use especially during heavy traffic.

Jackie Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Country Inn & Suites near Knoxville, Tn airport is emaculate. Expected the same in M'boro. NOT SO!

Staff very nice. Hallway to room dirty, lots of ceiling tiles missing, not well lit. Room dirty, window curtain missing some hooks, dirty q-tip on carpet, shower curtain & towels thread bare, tub nasty. When you flush toilet you'd think it was ready to explode!

Cookies in front lobby...everyday grocery store generic.

Terrible parking area. It rained & had to step into ankle-deep water...no apparent drainage.

Extremely dangerous when exiting street onto main road!!!!!!

Will never stay again.

Room Tip: Priceline.com--Cost more than desk quote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murfreesboro hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Murfreesboro
Comfort Suites Murfreesboro
#13 of 34 in Murfreesboro
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Murfreesboro
Sleep Inn Murfreesboro
#5 of 34 in Murfreesboro
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murfreesboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro
0.4 mi away
Best Western Chaffin Inn
Best Western Chaffin Inn
#12 of 34 in Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Murfreesboro
Hilton Garden Inn Murfreesboro
#1 of 34 in Murfreesboro
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro
Address: 2262 Armory Dr, Murfreesboro, TN 37129-6930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Murfreesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a spacious room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro, TN to ensure you have all of the comforts of home, from free high-speed Internet access to the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. Business guests can work efficiently with a 24-hour business center and on-site meeting space, while all guests can enjoy the fitness center and Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM. Grab a complimentary chocolate chip cookie from the lobby before exploring this hotel's location near MTSU's Murphy Center and Main Street in Murfreesboro, TN. Stones River National Battlefield, Discovery Center at Murfree Spring and various shopping options are also situated nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Murfreesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Murfreesboro Hotel Murfreesboro
Country Inn And Suites Murfreesboro
Country Inn Murfreesboro
Murfreesboro Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing