We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Deceptive Advertising” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Select Inn Murfreesboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Select Inn Murfreesboro
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Crossville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deceptive Advertising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

if you're thinking about staying at a Select Inn, DON'T. They advertise on those big highway billboards, and they say $39 in huge letters. What you don't see is underneath that huge $39 is it's for a queen bed. You need a telescope to see the writing underneath it's so damn small. I got taken, they ran my credit card, then presented me with the paperwork which showed my rate as $59. Then they fed me this line of b.s. that the $39 rate is only for one queen bed and a smoking room. I don't smoke, and I sure as hell don't want a smoking room. Plus they only have two of those rooms even if you wanted one you probably can't get it. Unfortunately I only had a $100 credit on my credit card, so I couldn't check out because it they already swiped my card and it would take a few days for it to get credited back to my card, and where am I going to find a room for $25? I called their corporate office and left messages for their executive VP, and he never returned my call. What does that tell you. They don't give a rip about the customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    5
    7
    20
See reviews for
19
2
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent 6 nights at the Select and found it impeccable.Room was clean ,and could not find a better room for the money.I would recommend Select to anyone seeking value,cleanliness,and a professional and friendly staff.Maggie,Eric and Jeremy treated me like a family member.I will definitely stay there againProperty was well kept,as were all corridors,and pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms 101-121 are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for a clean economical place to stay when we visited Shelbyville TN for the TWH Celebration. The Select Inn in Murfreesboro filled that need well. The grounds were kept up and the exterior was in good shape. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was large, in good shape and clean. Our room was very quiet even though it was near the exit to the parking lot. The Continental Breakfast was fresh and sufficient. The breakfast area was clean and attended frequently by the staff.
We also enjoyed the Mexican restaurant next door.
We were surprised and pleased to find a place to stay that was this well managed for the price on a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

After our house burnt to the ground in a freak accident, our family was without a home. We didn't have much money so we looked for a low rate for a week or so, until our insurance money came in. We select , and I must admit, reading all the comments below made us skeptical.Due to some processing hang ups e ended up staying two weeks. Our stay was very enjoyable, or room was newly renovated with a flat screen TV, the staff were very welcoming, frormdly, kind accommodating, and helpful. Anything we needed, they helped us. The pool was clean and the attached restaurant made it easy to have a good meal. PK, the manager was wonderful and great with our kids, he always asked how they were fairing and made us feel at home when our home was ripped out from under us. You can't find a better deal or service for the price! excellent people and place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sashareece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Owner at Select Inn Murfreesboro, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always try to do our best. I am glad we did just that during your stay. If you should need lodging in the future we look forward to serving you.

PK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our stay was a nightmare!!! The room stunk, the carpet was moldy, the bathroom had black mold around the tub, there was a fight between a "couple" that required police involvement. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murfreesboro hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The stay has been absolutely terrible. The manager of this hotel is just down right rude. After kindly asking the manager not to knock on the door (I had a do not disturb sign on the door) he and his the staff here knocked on my door constantly. The rooms are just nasty. The bathroom smelled so bad. They obviously have a sewer problem here that needs to be addressed. I personally feel someone went through my room while I was away. They reprogrammed my key several times. I would not waste my time here. You're better off sleeping in your car. The staff here is beyond unprofessional! You have lost my business!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingAroundTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Owner at Select Inn Murfreesboro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. All our comments are taken very seriously and we do strive to give the very best customer service that is possible. I apologize for the absolute horrible service you received at my property. This kind of services absolutely unacceptable and cannot be tolerated the individual that was representing himself as the owner will now undergo complete retraining. My hotel has a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee. I only wished that I had the opportunity to correct it before you left. Please think about giving us another opportunity. I am sure that your stay will be very comfortable and enjoyable. Again I apologize. Thank you. PK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is disgusting. The smell of mildew and mold overwhelms you as soon as you walk into the hallway. Very seedy groups of people staying here. We do not feel safe at all. Will not leave anything in the room when we leave.
Bed is full of black hair upon arrival. Already have a headache after 30 minutes in the room.
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTVolTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Owner at Select Inn Murfreesboro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. All our comments are taken very seriously and we do strive to give the very best customer service that is possible. I apologize for some of the things that you encountered here at the property. We are in the process of going through a renovation and sometimes there is some confusion in things left undone. Please forgive this oversight. I WISHED THAT YOU HAD LET US KNOW ABOUT YOUR UNSATISFACTORY STAY PRIOR TO YOU LEAVING. I AM POSITIVE THAT WE COULD OF MADE YOUR STAY PERFECT. WE DO HAVE 100% GUARANTEE ON YOUR STAY. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations at our property. Thank you. PK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murfreesboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Murfreesboro
Quality Inn Murfreesboro
#18 of 36 in Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Value Place Murfreesboro
Value Place Murfreesboro
#15 of 36 in Murfreesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#19 of 36 in Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Chaffin Inn
Best Western Chaffin Inn
#13 of 36 in Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#26 of 36 in Murfreesboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Murfreesboro
Days Inn & Suites Murfreesboro
#17 of 36 in Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Inn Murfreesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn Murfreesboro

Property: Select Inn Murfreesboro
Address: 2424 S Church St, Murfreesboro, TN 37127-5548 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Murfreesboro)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Murfreesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Select Inn Murfreesboro 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Inn of Murfreesboro provides you with all of the services and features you desire at an affordable price. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and visit our onsite restaurant, La Siesta, for authentic Mexican cuisine. We have conference and meeting space available to host all of your personal and business functions, and our onsite business center will enable you to stay connected and capable while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Select Inn Murfreesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Murfreesboro Hotel Murfreesboro
Howard Johnson Murfreesboro
Murfreesboro Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing