We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two star price but five star rating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked this as part of a niagara to New York road trip, I like to go to places that maybe average British tourists go to but was getting a tad worried when everybody kept saying " Scranton-what you going there for?!". Needn't have worried, hotel was better than expected from the stunning lobby right through to the great night we spent in Trax bar. Have no idea why people call it shabby, it's an old building and extremely well kept. Our room was huge with great storage and a nice view over the town. Beds were amazingly comfortable and the linen lovely.
We were lucky enough to meet Mr G who instigated the restoration of the building when it had been used by homeless and drug users.
This hotel was the same price as we paid the night before at super 8 in ithaca and I would not hesitate to return.
Scranton itself was quiet but lovely with a fab courthouse and green. We had a few drinks in the Bog (great little dive bar) and a reasonably priced Thai meal next door.
We hope to be back for Mr G 's st Patrick's party!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibabe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to meet Mr. G at the Trax bar. He is a staple here at the hotel, and I'm happy he was able to tell you stories of our history.

We look forward to your return over St. Patrick's Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

The lobby is beautiful, but in checking into my room I noted a strong, rank smell. The carpet was very old and there were water stains on the ceiling. There was mold covering the heating and air conditioning ducts. I tried perfume, febreeze, and powder to no avail. By the last day of my stay my allergies were in overdrive and I was happy to check out and get some fresh air. My coworker stayed on a different floor and noted similar issues.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry for the smell issue that you noted and have alerted my Chief Engineer and Housekeeping Manager of your comments so that we can ensure to correct the issue for the future.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Lobby and Carmen's restaurant were well worth seeing and dining there was very nice. The rooms however were a little dirty and shabby. I found a lot of mold in the bath tub, took a photo and showed it to the front desk. They said they would fix that right away. Well, 3 days went by and they did not.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the history of our building and the food at Carmen's 2.0, but am sorry about the lack of follow through from the front office staff. I will address your comments with them and the engineering staff to ensure that all issues are corrected in a timely manner for our guests.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had our family reunion at this hotel and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They organized different historic locations around the area to visit and the special dinner menu they created for the formal get together was excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property! I am thrilled that our staff helped you experience the history of Scranton and that you had a memorable family reunion.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends for an over night getaway. The lobby is truly amazing. The rooms are average but have a lot of charm. The bed was comfortable and room very clean. We had dinner and breakfast in the lobby restaurant and the food and service was awesome. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our lobby to be amazing. I am happy that you were able to enjoy Carmen's 2.0 and that you would return to stay with us.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here mid-week on business and booked through Priceline for about $60. Being in a former, grand train station, the lobby is incredible. My room, however, was mostly average for a hotel at this level. Strangely shaped and arranged, average TV with not-so-great picture and channel selection and, perhaps most weird, no toilet paper. Not even a holder for toilet paper, which I've never seen before. I had to use Kleenex.

This room was fine as a "sleep-hole," which is sometimes all I need if I'm arriving late and leaving early, as this trip called for, but I would not choose it again if I wanted a place to enjoy quality time in the room.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank PricelineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our grand lobby, but am sorry that the room did not equally impress you. I will communicate your comments to the General Manager and keep them in mind during our next refresh in efforts to better serve our guests.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sun night. Most restaurants in downtown Scranton were closed. The lobby is the best part as it is breathtaking. The carpet in my room by the fridge and air conditioner was wet. Not sure which appliance was causing it. The bed was comfortable. Bring earplugs. Can hear everyone's doors slamming.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful, historic lobby. I am sorry, though, that there was a noise issue during your stay. I will ensure to relay your comments to all management so that we can correct that for the future.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
430 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
673 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Address: 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $98 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former D.L.& W rail station. Designed by Kenneth Murchison and dedicated by President Truesdale in 1908, this neo-classical French Renaissance structure is the gem of Scranton boasting 146 renovated guest rooms along with Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant, Trax Bar & Grille, and elegantly appointed modern Banquet and Event space. We also offer freshly brewed coffee along with 10 wines by-the-glass, specialty Italian desserts, and pastries in our Station Cafe located in the Grand Lobby. Our distinctively professional and qualified staff proudly offer a 24-hour Fitness Center, 24-hour Business Center, 24-Hour Security, Free in-room high speed wireless, and complimentary airport shuttle to/from Scranton/Wilkes Barre International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Scranton
Scranton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing