We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful converted train station. Very grand 1st level lobby/dining area/atrium. 2 on site restaurants. We ate at Trax and enjoyed our dinner.

Friendy staff at the front desk, offered suggestions for breakfast in town.

Rooms were clean and seemed updated. Bathroom was small and tub surround was not of the highest quality.

Overnight we seemed to hear doors banging continually. Probably from wedding reception guests after the reception that was held downstairs in the evening concluded.

Now about the Sleep number beds....no one in my party could find a comfortable setting. the beds seemed to be working correctly, but they were just not comfortable. We did not sleep well.

Convenient to Steamtown Mall.

Would likely stay here again, although our feelings about the beds may change that.

Very nice property in general.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jao988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to hear that the front office staff was helpful and that you had an enjoyable stay. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the sleep number bed, but we also offer rooms with pillowtop mattresses. Just let the desk know your bed preference when reserving the room and they can assign you a mattress type.

On behalf of all of us here at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

A place to stay if you are visiting to see Steamtown USA. Rooms facing the train track side have the steam trains that run during the day pass right under your room window! Steamtown USA and the Mall at Steamtown is a 4 block walk away. The building, due to it's nature, limits what the rooms can be like and mine was a little on the small size (king bed). While having a chair at the desk, there was no other chair in the room. Also, a limited amount of counter/table top space. Not an issue for me, but, for a couple, maybe. My Select Confort bed worked just fine. Bathroom were very nice! Now for the lobby; very nice, but, sound does travel up and since all room doors face the area above the lobby, may be an issue with light sleepers. The lobby is used for both the main dining room and for special functions, so, parties may be going on into the night. Because of the size and layout, would not recommend for families with small children. Also found the hallways on the room floors to be a little on the dark side especially at the elevators.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCtravellerDurhamNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the historic Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel in Scranton. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it's convenient location downtown. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to notify the appropriate managers, especially considering the hallway lighting.

We hope you will visit us again soon, and enjoy the holiday season!

See you at the Station,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The building itself is an old train station that has been converted and is terrific. Front desk worker was very generic personality wise and robot like. Room was very nice and well appointed. Bed was a Select Comfort bed that was not working well. Throughout the night woke up with little air in mattress. Was on the third floor and there was a huge light outside to light up the building and kept the room light all night. 4:15 AM, trash truck banging the containers. No rest in this part of the hotel. Had to pay $5.00 per night to park in an open parking lot with no security etc. MAYBE charge if there is a garage but for an open lot?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfb281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experience while staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some unpleasant moments, especially concerning the comfort of your bed and the lighting in the room. I will be sure the proper managers are notified of your concerns in order to address them specifically.

We do hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you to Scranton, PA.

Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Love all of the old history of the lobby, old train station benches in the hallways. Nice bar but skip breakfast at Carmine's, very bland. Rooms were clean but we had a tiny bathroom. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hf4f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the historical glory of this building as much as we do! I regret you were not satisfied with your breakfast experience at Carmen's 2.0, but you will be pleased to hear that we are continuously refreshing our menu in order to provide the highest quality and most tasteful experience for our guests.
We do hope to have you visit us again!

See you at the Station...

-Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When you first enter the Station Hotel you are taken back to a time gone by. It is a beautifully restored train station with a grand lobby. The restaurant in the main lobby is called Carmen's. It is pricey but worth it for a special evening. The hotel bar is called Trax and it has a nice casual menu with a great atmosphere as well. They have live entertainment on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. As far as the rooms go, they are well kept and spacious.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms give a cool view of the lobby from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Marie G,

Thank you so much for your kind words and expressions about our restaurants, Carmen's 2.0 and Trax Platform Lounge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the view from the upper balcony. Hope to have you visit us again soon!

See you at the Station...

-Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We hit a Priceline goldmine with this one! Located in a historic train station, this place is mammoth! The lobby alone is worth the time to scope. Check out the back stairs where the original, metal-caged elevator, I believe, handles room service and maid service. Room service was prompt and delicious. "Sleep Number" beds are overrated. I like the carafe-style coffee makers much better than the single-cuppers. I'm sure it's touch to make an old building as utilitarian to modern tastes, but these folks have done a truly decent job on this one.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators on any floor, and especially avoid a 2nd floor room directly over the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Tom T,

I am glad you had a chance to explore the hotel and some of it's nooks and crannies! It is remarkable and if a building could have feelings, it would be glad you appreciated it so. Your kind and helpful words will be appreciated by our staff. We hope to have you visit us again soon!

See you at the Station...

Sarah Eynon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Radisson Hotel is located in the oreiginal Lackawanna Railroad's main passenger station and office building. Be sure to look up and see the tile murals depicting scenes along the Lackawanna Railroad. We had a fantastic buffet lunch in the original concourse. Do take time to wander about and see pictures, the ornate Victorian walk-in safe, and original fixtures. We did not stay the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Jerry,

I am SO pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel. I do hope you enjoyed your meal, as I know you certainly enjoyed your surroundings. Hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit us again, see you at the station...
-Sarah Eynon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
651 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Address: 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former D.L.& W rail station. Designed by Kenneth Murchison and dedicated by President Truesdale in 1908, this neo-classical French Renaissance structure is the gem of Scranton boasting 146 renovated guest rooms along with Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant, Trax Bar & Grille, and elegantly appointed modern Banquet and Event space. We also offer freshly brewed coffee along with 10 wines by-the-glass, specialty Italian desserts, and pastries in our Station Cafe located in the Grand Lobby. Our distinctively professional and qualified staff proudly offer a 24-hour Fitness Center, 24-hour Business Center, 24-Hour Security, Free in-room high speed wireless, and complimentary airport shuttle to/from Scranton/Wilkes Barre International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Scranton
Scranton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing