We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought it would be interesting to stay in a historic building...but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We thought it would be interesting to stay in a historic building...but”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a most unpleasant stay and would strongly discourage anyone from staying here. We booked in on the Sunday prior to the Columbus Day holiday. In the evening there was a VERY, VERY LOUD band, accompanied by a screeching singer, playing in the lobby dining room playing for a wedding. Keep in mind that the rooms are all built above this cavernous lobby in which sound travels directly up to the rooms unobstructed by ceilings, walls, or any other impediment. The noise level in our room was so loud that one could not read, nor hear the television. Sleep was out of the question. When we call the front desk and asked if they could get the music lowered the response was "no way I can do that and it will be over by 10pm." It was not, the band played well past 10:00 PM. By 10pm I had a bad headache to say the least. Then, we were awakened at 6:30 the next morning by a wake-up call we did not request. When we again called the front desk the response was "I didn't call you" and there was no apology. When I asked to speak to the Manager, I was told that there was none on duty, until 8;00AM. This hotel lacks any sense of hospitality industry professionalism and customer service. DO NOT STAY HERE. Oh, and there was no toilet paper in the room when we arrived!

Room Tip: Don't choose this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purvis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to hear you were not able to get any sleep while you were and that you received a wake up call when you didn't request one. We understand sleep is a very important aspect of your travels and we apologize this did not happen during your stay. We would like to discuss this further. Please feel free to contact us at Customer Care. Our email is CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    238
    184
    127
    97
See reviews for
343
253
53
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northfield, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Traveled to Scranton on business - after a horrible flight arrived at the Radisson and was shocked to see this architectual masterpiece. An impressive building from the outside and more beautiful on the inside. My room wasn't ready so the desk immediately had another room available within minutes. The room was huge, with a "Sleep number" bed. Room service was expedient and the food was well prepared. I'm certain to return on personal time to be able to explore the hotel and surrounding historial sites. Beautiful venue, gracious staff- Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so happy to hear that your arrival to our hotel lifted your spirits after such a horrible flight! We are proud to be the caretakers of such a remarkable building, but more importantly, are proud to hear of guest experiences like yours. I am thrilled you were pleased with not only the service that was provided to you but also the quality of your room and meal. We do hope you will visit us again soon when you have some leisure time to explore...there's much to see!

See you at the Station,

Sarah Eynon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Hotel is beautiful and well kept. The lobby makes you feel that you stepped back in time about 100 years ago. Overall everything was clean and smelled fresh. The room was clean and the bedding smelled fresh. the room was a little stuffy but the ac resolved that issue very quickly. I stayed on a Thursday night and there was no issue with noise I did not eat at the hotel but the dining areas were very pleasant and comfortable looking. there is no complimentary breakfast but the room service menu was reasonable. I would stay here again. also the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was very quiet in the room and hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4uGo179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I think we all like the feeling of being able to "time travel" a little bit! Thank you so very much for your kind words and thorough review of your stay at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel. We hold ourselves to a very high standard when it comes to cleanliness and service and are pleased to hear that your experience was as it should be. Hopefully on your next stay in Scranton you will have an opportunity to dine in one of our restaurants, I know you will enjoy it!

Until next time....

See you at the Station,
Sarah Eynon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I love the radisson...it's beautiful and the heart of scrantons downtown. I highly recommend doing it once and then take it from there. It's a gorgeous view and a beautiful old landmark that means a lot to me!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staceytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Staceytoy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel during your visit to Scranton, PA. So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your view and am thankful for your kind words and recommendation.
I do hope you will stay with us again soon!

See you at the Station....
-Sarah Eynon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for just one night. Front desk was efficient but not all that friendly. The rooms are nice but a tadbit on the small size, more of a European feel to them. Bathroom was nice sized and they have SUPER beds - Sleep Number! We didn't eat there but they have a nice coffee shop serving Starbucks. Transportation to the airport is about 15 minutes and their free shuttle runs every half hour. Nice drivers!

Overall, it is your typical convention-type hotel set in a beautiful old building.

The walls of the hallways need a good touch-up as well as some of the trim in other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear tgsandy,

We are very pleased you chose to stay with us at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel on your unexpected visit to Scranton. We have an array of room styles, some being larger than others, given the historical nature of the building and I hope you will stay with us again when your travels bring you our way. I'm glad you enjoyed our new Station Cafe and the Sleep Number beds. I'd like you to thank you for your note about the paint in the hallways and trim, our engineering staff has already started repainting and refreshing those areas of the hotel!
We hope to have you with us again in the future.

See you at the Station,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at the Radisson on 8/11/12 as the Hilton where I usually stay was booked. Hotel is a historic landmark and a neat place to stay. Huge room with tons of space and a great view. I am not a big fan of the Sleep number beds whatsoever. (Only reason I am not giving an excellent rating). From check in to check out, the staff was excellent. Have to say that Cory at the front desk was one of the nicest individuals I have dealt with at a hotel. Customer service like this is why I will be back to the Radisson! Great food as well and the Bar seemed to be a happening place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear G H,

Thank you for staying with us on your visit from Blairstown, NJ. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to let Corey know how much you appreciated his service, and also our chef of Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant. I'm hoping on your next visit to Scranton you will stay with us again and be able to enjoy one of our NEW pillow top beds.

See you at the Station,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked through Expedia two rooms with 2 queen size sleep number beds. When we arrived we were given two rooms, one with 1 double bed, and one with 1 queen bed. Neither of the rooms had sleep number beds. The bathrooms were very small. The bureau in one room had a broken handle. The other room had a condom wrapper under the bed as well as the TV remote. On the nightstand was a used match and the corner of the condom wrapper. One pillow was black smeared with cigarette ashes. When we complained about the rooms, we were told the hotel was fully booked and these were the only rooms available. They would not return our money since we had prepaid. I spoke to manager and pointed out that we had paid for higher priced rooms and he did agree to throw in breakfast for us for the one morning.

Although the building in historic and the lobby spectacular, it led us to expect a first rate hotel. Instead, we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mpollifax,

I am VERY disheartened to hear of your experience during your stay with us. I assure you that the condition of your room upon arrival IS NOT acceptable and our housekeeping staff was spoken to accordingly, as well as our front desk management in ensuring a room has been fully cleaned and inspected before checking in a new guest. My apologies to you and your party for not performing according to our standards in addition to your expectations. I do hope you will visit us again in the future and have an opportunity to truly experience the comfort, cleanliness and service the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel has to offer.

Best regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scranton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Property: Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Address: 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former D.L.& W rail station. Designed by Kenneth Murchison and dedicated by President Truesdale in 1908, this neo-classical French Renaissance structure is the gem of Scranton boasting 146 renovated guest rooms along with Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant, Trax Bar & Grille, and elegantly appointed modern Banquet and Event space. We also offer freshly brewed coffee along with 10 wines by-the-glass, specialty Italian desserts, and pastries in our Station Cafe located in the Grand Lobby. Our distinctively professional and qualified staff proudly offer a 24-hour Fitness Center, 24-hour Business Center, 24-Hour Security, Free in-room high speed wireless, and complimentary airport shuttle to/from Scranton/Wilkes Barre International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Scranton
Scranton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing