We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The man that checked me in was very nice. but it was really run down. i got there late, so i just wanted to sleep. i opened the night stand to look for delivery places , and found drug substances!!!! then, in the middle of the night i woke up to go to the bathroom and there were 2 roaches crawling on the walls!!!! gross!!!! i would not recommend you're dog to stay there!!!! never again, even if it was free!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

The motel is somewhat rundown, so my wife wouldn't want to stay there, but it was clean, quiet, and economical with a hospitable staff, so it was fine for a place to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDavidDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our room was clean including bed clothes. Pool was clean and in good shape. The rest of the facility was just worn out. Bathroom fixtures worked properly but baseboard missing. Sheets clean but threadbare and pinprick holes. Pillows needed replaced. Had to fold it over to use it. Wallpaper/paint in the hallways stained and peeling. Very quiet--tucked away from road noise, but nothing to eat/see within walking distance. Restaurant closed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

When my partner and I arrived at this hotel, I was looking for a romantic evening. I expected a professionally cleaned room with a disinfected and clean hot tub. We were tired out from a long drive. But, my sixth sense warned me problems with this place. We entered our room and fell promptly asleep. Later, when we wanted to use the hot tub in the room, I noticed something wrong moments before I turned on the water. It looked like thousands of craps left by cockroaches!
I got angry and asked for another room. We were given another room at a lesser rate, but it was worse than before. My partner and I fought worse than we ever had. After a night like this, and a dismal breakfast, we drove home separately.
I complained to their franchise headquarters. I was given my half of the refund of money. but would I stay there again? Hell no. My advise to any one.. run for the hills. There are OTHER and BETTER motels in scranton area than this one.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My family stayed at this hotel as a stopover on our way to Chicago from Maine. It was inexpensive and we didn't expect a luxury experience but we did want a clean and decent place to rest our heads for the night.

While this hotel was not the worst on our trip (for that you'd have to check out The Rodeway Inn in Williamsville, NY) it was certainly not a place we would ever book again. First of all, we parked around the side of the building and the side entrance wasn't locked - it was open for anyone at all to just walk in. Our room was next to that entrance and this caused us all a bit of worry during the night.

The room was very unappetizing: The toilet ran all night long. The bedding was washed, but stained, and there were burn holes in the sheets. The platform-style beds had dirt and hair (!) along the edges, and the continental breakfast was deemed "the grossest thing I ever saw" by my not-very-picky teenaged son. There were fruit flies all over the bread and bagels and the apple juice had turned and fermented. The only fruit available was plastic.

We will not be back to the Econolodge and would strongly recommend that you pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I booked the EconoLodge in advance knowing it would be my stop en route to a conference in Philadelphia (leaving just a couple of hours to drive first thing the next morning). I arrived with my colleague exhausted and decided to ignore the fact that we had to check in through a little window from outside (the lobby was locked) and the funky smell. I did not see any bugs in the room, but let's be honest - I didn't really look. I covered the stained pillow cases with a towel I'd brought from home and laughed off the little holes in the bedsheets.

What I could not laugh off or ignore was the massive cockroach staring at me from inside my bagel at the continental breakfast. I woke up the woman at the front desk (yes; she was sleeping) to inform her and promptly left.

Like any interstate, there are other options. Stay absolutely anywhere else. This is the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My complete review: Rates should be $20 less--'nuff said.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habitualhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Clarks Summit
Econo Lodge Clarks Summit
#4 of 6 in Clarks Summit
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1175 Kane St, Scranton, PA 18505-3670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $40 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Scranton
Econolodge Hotel Scranton
Econo Lodge Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing