We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Gross!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have NEVER been more disgusted by a hotel before. There were bobby pins and hair all over the bed frame, and burn holes in the comforters. The entire place smelled, couldn't quite place what the smell was, but it wasn't good. The lock on the door could have been broken quite easily. I wouldn't even sit on either of the chairs in the room, or the beds. We spent maybe 5 minutes in the room and then went to the front desk to say we couldn't stay there. Apparantly we weren't the first, because the woman at the front desk gave us absolutely no problem refunding our $$, and didn't even really question why we were leaving. We went 5 minutes South on 81 and stayed at the Sleep Inn, which was a palace compared to this dump. We stay almost exclusively in Choice Hotels, and I am surprised that they have their name attached to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The flags are flown incorrectly to start with, US is always highest flown on American soil. The front desk clerk speaks very softly, I think to hide an accent. Carpets and hallways stink and restaurant is closed completely, has been for a while apparently. Room appeared clean although there were some areas that certainly could be cleaned a lot better than they were. Pool was good, clean and presentable, towels not so plentiful. Outside of building and driveway could definitely use some maintenance as well.
Not too bad for the money but not what I was expecting either. Spend a few more dollars and sleep better and get a better breakfast!

Room Tip: Take a deep breath before entering the hallways, if you're lucky you can make it to your room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

To begin, I should mention that we typically stay in a Hampton Inn level hotel. The Scranton Econo Lodge was our first experience at an Econo Lodge. I must say I was kind of disappointed. We recently stayed in a 1960s hotel that was cleaner and in better repair, although never upgraded, than this Econo Lodge.

When we exited I-81, we were slightly disturbed to find we were being routed back through a deserted road that felt just a bit creepy late at night. The hotel was definitely NOT upgraded and was only slightly well maintained. There was no lock on the exterior doors to the hallways. Anyone could walk in at any time without a key.

Service was good with easy check-in and an immediate call to both our adjoining rooms see if everything was satisfactory. It was difficult to tell if the rooms were dirty or just hadn't been well-maintained. There was hair in one of the bathrooms, but the other tub looked very clean. Paint was peeling on the doors in both rooms. Light switches looked dirty. Some updates had been done sometime fairly recently, considering there were fairly new headboards and granite countertops in the bedrooms and bathrooms. Nice fridges and microwaves were included in the rooms. I was going to put food in one fridge, but the handle to its cabinet enclosure was gummy, so I didn't bother. The sheets and towels seemed to be clean. The outdoor pool was clean but not especially inviting and did not seem to include any poolside towels.

As far as the continental breakfast goes, it would be best not to expect much. It consisted of two types of cereal, milk, juice, bagels and English muffins to toast, packaged doughnuts, and coffee in a really cool brewer. If you don't want fruit or anything healthy, it is sufficient and a convenient start to the day.

Maybe for the price, this hotel was acceptable. However, we realized we have grown very spoiled in our previous hotel experiences. We didn't realize how luxurious they were.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

every thing was clean no bad smells a bit hard to find good value free breakfast helpfull staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friends and I stayed here last summer and were very disappointed. It's a bit dirty and worn out. The beds weren't comfortable and it seemed as though there were shady activities happening in some of the other rooms. i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I must say, when I pulled into the Econo Lodge in Scranton I almost turned around and immediately left, forfeiting my $49.99 rate that I had already paid. We were on a cross-country roadtrip and looking for a simple highway-side motel to catch a few z’s in on our trip. When we realized we would make it to Scranton for the night, the best rate we found in town was at the Econo Lodge so we booked without doing much research. The hotel is located in a dark area, on a side road off the highway. The property itself has poor lighting which made it feel quite unsafe. After we checked in and got our room, we were a little more comfortable. The rooms, although a bit old, were in good shape and we ended up getting a good night of sleep. Despite the low price, not sure I would stay at this property again unless they did some upgrades on the façade and lighting near the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This place is a DUMP! Our room was not that clean at all. We rented 2 rooms for 1 night for the 4 of us. Both rooms need major updating and cleaning. We were kinda scared to sleep in our room .Not sure if roaches going to out at night. Two of the pillows in our room were dirty and nasty brown. We found a dead spider in the bath tub. The toilet water filled up to the top when you flused it. We thought it was going to over flow. Both bathrooms have black mold in the tubs. Our mirror was so foggy/dirty it was hard to see. The window had something nasty splatted all over it. We found a condom and cigar/blunt wrappers on the floor in both rooms. Not to mention they wrote on the walls with black marker to direct you to your room. Who does that? This place needs to be shut down!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1175 Kane St, Scranton, PA 18505-3670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Scranton
Econolodge Hotel Scranton
Econo Lodge Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing