We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico”
Review of Casa Bella

Casa Bella
Ranked #3 of 302 Restaurants in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Jermyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of our absolute favorite restaurants in the Scranton area. We have eaten here many times, and have NEVER had a meal we did not enjoy. We also have gone there with friends, and no one has ever complained about the food. My favorite dish is Calamari Luciano; it's great. I always end up taking some home, and it's enough for another meal.

The prices are good, the service is great, and the atmosphere is casual. The Casa Bella will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAtrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    48
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Five of us, celebrating a special occasion, enjoyed a wonderful dinner on a Friday night recently. My wife and I both had their veal saltimbocca, which was so tender that you could have cut it with a fork. Our daughter, who was at Casa Bella for the first time, thoroughly enjoyed the lobster ravioli in vodka sauce. Two other family members enjoyed the sole. Desserts are home made and are to die for - save room if you go. The owners and the members of the staff welcome everyone warmly, the ambiance of the place is inviting and the service is very attentive without being intrusive. We have been at Casa Bella before and it is always very refreshing to see the owner's comittment to the consistency of quality food, excellent presentation and superior service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went to Casa Bella for the first time last night with 4 other friends. The place doesn't look that great on the outside, but when you get inside it all changes. Service was excellent and so was the food. My wife and I both had their seafood dish over linguine, it came out piping hot and the sauce was wonderful. The salads were ice cold and the we had the house dressing The other folks had a variety of dishes and there was nothing left on the plates... Desserts were also very nice.
This restaurant is a keeper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjk1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were driving along I81 looking for a place to eat and found this on TripAdvisor and Yelp with good reviews so we decided to check it out and were not sorry we did! Easy to get to from the interstate, only tricky to find the entrance to the parking lot in back. We walked into a lovely dining room with tablecloths and cloth napkins, but did not feel out of place in our casual attire. Some people were more dressed up but casual was fine too. All of the wait staff (and there were many) were extremely friendly and attentive. Great selection on the menu, reasonable prices, and the service was very quick. We had our salads immediately and our food was served right after. Delicious, homemade ravioli, good salad and fresh bread. We also enjoyed one of the amazing desserts offered. We were out in under an hour, but they made it clear that there was no hurry and people were definitely there to linger and enjoy. We will be back again next time we're driving through Scranton!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A rare find in Scranton!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Prior reviewers were correct! This is a real gem of a local eatery. We were en route back to Boston from Pittsburgh and decided to overnight in Scranton. Could not recall the Italian ristorante we went t o two years ago. Used TA and found Casa Bella. Here is what we found: It's located in an old residential area in NORTH Scranton, but it's only about 10 minutes from downtown. Parking is not really a problem, they do have lot. As soon as we sat down wait staff arrived with a basket of crusty bread and butter. We wanted some olive oil and within one minute wait person delivered a cup of quite tasty oil. We decided to split several items. We started with the egg plant rollitini. Excellent with plenty of marinara sauce! This was followed by a good portion Caesar salad. We decided to split the chicken and egg plant dish which I might note also came with a house salad. Food was excellent and the service was fantastic. Best of all was the price! The owner "Sammy" gets also a "10" for running a fine establishment. We will certainly return on our next trip thru the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NTVBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing