We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice.”

Abe's Kosher Delicatessen
Ranked #11 of 303 Restaurants in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
351 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“An excellent choice.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Abe's is one of our favorite stops in downtown Scranton, especially when we're looking for bagels and lox. The deli is clean, moderately priced and serves a wide variety of dishes to suit anyone's taste. Give it a chance and you're sure to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poconos
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Actually ... what's not to like is the bread: packaged, off-the-supermarket-shelf rye bread. What a terrible thing to do to good pastrami. Otherwise, for a sit-down, corner deli ... it's great

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank finpits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as remembered”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Although I moved from Scranton a LONG time ago, I have fond memories of going to Abe's while in high school ( it was just a few blocks away). Visiting home in early May, with my husband, we found the food mediocre at best. The waffles looked like "Eggo's" and the latkes tasted as if they were from a mix--no nice crisp shreds, and a bland flavor. Mostly matzo meal or flour, I would guess. Maybe one can't go home again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phlurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deli Heaven!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Fantastic kosher deli -- great sandwiches, stacked generously with delicious meats. If you are looking for a good lunch in downtown Scranton, Abe's will not disappoint you!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The falfel is small and overdone. The prices are too high for what you are getting. I was quite disappointed. I expected better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESJ8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe's Kosher Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Abe's Kosher Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing