We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilkes-Barre
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took my 6 year-old grandson on the trolley ride while visiting Steamtown National Park. Both grandparents and grandson enjoyed the ride to the terminal on Montage Mountain and back. The guide was exceptional and gave us great background information on the trolley system of the past and restoration plans for the future. We did not have a chance to tour the museum.

Helpful?
Thank sadielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nothing interesting here, I played a dinner party with some musicians and I don't get it. It seemed like a small pointless area of photos on the wall and an electronic trolley on the wall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better ride than Steamtown!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The museum itself was small & basic but interesting enough. The real star is the ten mile round trip trolley ride! Far longer than the Steamtown train (itself a fun romp), it includes a mile long tunnel, scenic woodlands, local history, & a stop at the restoration shops at the far end. When the minor league Scranton Yankees are playing you can even park at the museum & ride the trolley to the game!
My only complaint was a less than enthusiastic staff at the ticket booth/gift shop, but I've been there before & know that's not always the case.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Gow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg,Ma.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lot of History”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like trolleys/trains then this is the place to visit.Many items on display that tell the story of how it all got started ,we even took the trolley ride up to Montage Mountain.Numerous trains/trolleys on display.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good for young boys - a little sparse for other audiences”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Located in a very large, well-kept and more empty than not facility, this government-sponsored tourist attraction, presents a few exhibitions of the steam power railroad industry that has long-since been replaced by under-achiever Amtrak and low-cost airlines such as Jet Blue and Southwest. The presentations will be familiar to most - fully-sized trolley cars, steam locomotives, PBS-type mini films about travel after the Civil War but before WW I, old-timey ticket booths and a very large, formally functioning train-yard. Young boys will be in their glory with the heavy machinery but a thinness in the presentation and a fair bit of white place may make for a less interesting trip for parents and sisters. In short, not a bad pastime if you have the right audience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing