We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with unhappy employee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An unhappy female employee worked at the breakfast omelette station. She was complaining how much she hates her job. I was shocked by her inappropriate behavior. We had dinner in the restaurant but not happy with the food quality and taste. The service was so so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello Tony L.
Thanks so much for reviewing our property. Your comments & honesty are greatly appreciated. We have spoken to our staff about your experience. Here at the Hilton Scranton a smile is part of our uniform and we take any comments about otherwise very seriously. Please stay with us again the next time you’re in the area to prove to you that we can exceed your expectations!
- The Hilton Scranton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

One of the best Hilton properties I have ever stayed at. Absolutely beautiful inside and out. It is located in a more industrial part of Scranton however, the noise level was to a minimum. It is a walking distance from the Steamtown Mall and other small shops around the area. The few downfalls it had was having to pay extra for parking and having to keep getting your ticket validated after coming back each time. Also, the beds were not as comfortable as usual. Besides those two things it was very nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabyybravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Gabyybravo,
Thanks so much for reviewing us one of the “Best Hilton Properties.” We recently completed a 2.3 million dollar renovation & just last week gave our fitness center a $45,000 facelift with all new equipment! We love that we are walking distance from the Steamtown Mall & a bunch of locally owned shops & restaurants with lots of character! The parking garage next door is owned by the city & they give our guests a discounted rate, this is also a flat rate with unlimited amount of re-entries. We hope to see you again soon!
- The Hilton Scranton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I attended a convention at this establishment in June of 2013. The place was very well kept and clean. The staff was very helpful. I attended a wedding there a few years ago and forgot how nice it was. The luncheon which I attended had great food, the service could have been a tad faster, but overall it was great!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamrock6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Shamrock6373
First let me thank you for your review! We recently completed a 2.3 million dollar renovation to our entire hotel including our Convention Level that is over 26,000 square feet. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Executive Chef & kitchen staff, they take pride in every meal they serve whether it be in one of our three restaurants on site or a banquet or conference on our Convention Level. Please don’t let years pass by before you come to visit us again!
See you soon,
The Hilton Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Hilton property was a great stay. I used points to stay here but I feel that on a holiday weekend the required point level (30,000 per night) was steep. But the quality of the hotel and everything else was great. I passed on breakfast but some of my family took advantage of it and they said it was good. Its complimentary for Gold members, which my wife is, but I am only Silver and missed out on the free stuff. You will need to pay for parking though. :(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello Timothy M.
Thanks for your feedback and thank you for being a part of our complimentary rewards program! Being a Hilton Honors Member is a great way to get perks by being loyal to our brand. Also when you’re a Gold Hhonors Member you get breakfast for yourself & a guest so tell your wife to invite you. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy your stay as a Hhonors Reward. You'll be a Gold Member in no time at all, hey maybe even a Diamond Member! We look forward to your next stay in Scranton!
- The Hilton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here during my best friend's wedding. Her reception was at the Hilton. They were friendly and accommodating. They kept a meat platter refrigerated behind the desk for us (that we'd gotten to feed the bride and bridesmaids while they were getting ready). This went above and beyond; and then when we had a reservation mix-up for our group, and would have been charged for an extra room that had gone empty, the front desk manager was patient in looking into the matter, and kind enough to take the charge off the credit card. I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Adam F.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We at the Hilton love & take pride in our weddings and taking care of our wedding guests. Our staff will take the extra minute without hesitation to make your stay perfect. Can’t wait to see you again when you come back to Scranton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A quick stay at the downtown Hilton arriving around 10pm so I was unable to enjoy the whole hotel.
I was pleasantly surprised that their large pool/hot tub area stayed open until 11pm (most hotels seem to shut them down by 10pm).
The room was VERY large and nicely appointed. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. A/C worked very well (I turn it down to 66 at night).
Not expecting to stay in town another night, I had thrown away my razor that morning so I went down to request a complementary one from the from desk. In addition to the razor, the clerk also didn't change me for my small snack I has selected from the adjacent store. He was extremely friendly and helpful.
The only thing that I had failed to notice when booking my reservation was the $9.95 self service parking few for parking in the adjacent parking garage (fee added to you room bill and the ticket validated at the front desk).
Overall a very nice and short stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InkedCelticCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear InkedCelticCross,
Thank you for choosing The Hilton Scranton for your short visit to the area. Our 50ft lap pool is a wonderful part of our hotel along with the whirlpool that can accommodate up to 12 people and we’re glad you had the opportunity to enjoy it! Thank you for noticing our sleeping rooms, in fact they just had a recent “face lift” along with the rest of our property including our 26,000 square foot conference level. The parking garage next to our hotel is owned by the city, but we do offer a discounted rate of $9.95 per night, with unlimited amount of re-entries during your stay.
We hope you visit us again next time you pass through the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. The welcome staff on the evening shift was wonderful, helpful, and caring. The accommodations were wonderful. We had two separate rooms and they offered to join the two rooms. They also extended the pool time so our children could swim since we arrived late. I would rate this as one of the best experiences at a hotel we have had in the last 5 years of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Scranton & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hello Robert Z.
Thank you so much for your great review! Our staff takes pride in the way we take care of our guests. We anticipate your needs & accommodate to make all of our guests happy. We love to see smiles on faces when we do “the little things.” I will definitely pass this information along to our evening staff! Thanks again for staying with us & we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
430 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Scranton
Residence Inn Scranton
#6 of 10 in Scranton
163 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Scranton & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Scranton & Conference Center

Address: 100 Adams Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $111 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Scranton & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Scranton is an IACC certified conference center located in downtown Scranton Pennsylvania. The Hilton offers 175 guest rooms and suites with on-site dining options in Trolleys Bistro, Casey's Corner, PJ's Pub and the Electric City Cafe which proudly brews Starbuck's coffee. The hotel features a beautiful 50' lap pool, a whirlpool and a 24 hour exercise room. The conference center has 19 total meeting rooms including a 75 seat amphitheater and a grand ballroom accommodating up to 500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Scranton & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Scranton And Conference Center
Hilton Scranton Hotel Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing