We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good spot and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Scranton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good spot and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Requested and received a larger room for the same price as a standard king room. The staff are pleasant and attentive. The 'free' breakfast was more than adequate and the staff in the breakfast room were very attentive and helpful. Decent indoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gershl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott! We are happy that you enjoyed your upgraded room type and found our staff pleasant and attentive. We also are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and our indoor pool. We hope that we may have the chance to accommodate you the next time you visit Northeastern PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    82
    47
    14
    3
See reviews for
79
44
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullica Township, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fast check-in, spotless facility, extremely friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable bed, free high speed internet, excellent breakfast. A terrific value! The hotel is well located - very close to dining, shopping, entertaining, and sight seeing venues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott and found our staff friendly, helpful, and efficient, and our hotel clean and comfortable. We're happy that you enjoyed our breakfast, complimentary high speed wireless internet, and location as well! We hope that we may accommodate you the next time you visit Northeastern, PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family stopped here without making reservations on our way to Hershey, PA. We originally wanted to stay at the Residence Inn, but the room size we wanted was not available. The Fairfield Inn in right next to the Residence Inn and owned by the same people. The staff was very pleasant and put us in a connected room at a discounted rate. The rooms were clean, comfortable, but not elegant. The staff let my children use the sports facility at the Residence Inn which was a big plus after our long drive. The location was near the Interstate, but far enough away to be quiet. There are many shops around and there is a large Chinese Buffet restaurant with a huge selection, decent prices, and good food next door (easy walk) which is great for hungry children. Oh, and the breakfast at the hotel was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad that your children enjoyed the sports court at our sister property and that you found our hotel clean, comfortable, and quiet. I'm also happy to hear that you found our team helpful and friendly and that breakfast was enjoyable. We hope that you and your family will stay with us again the next time you are in Northeastern Pennsylvania!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We often stay at Marriotts this one was in the area where we planned to travel (on our way to a Catskills wedding from Central PA). We were warmly welcomed, received great help in locating a restaurant for dinner, entered a clean and nice room, slept well (quiet), and enjoyed a nice breakfast. Every staff member we met was gracious, helpful when needed, and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank assybish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel quiet and clean and our staff friendly and helpful. I hope you enjoyed the Catskills and that we may see you again at our hotel the next time you visit Scranton, Pennsylvania!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped in Scranton to take a break in our drove to Pittsburgh. This place was largely as expected.

It is well located but getting to it is a bit tricky.

There is a food truck nearby in the parking lot of the Mall that offer picnic meals which we should have used.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got it. Breakfast is eggs and usual low end pastries and included
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhdrjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad that you found your room quiet and that our location convenient. I hope that we see you again the next time you are in Northeastern PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and it was quiet and the property was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Watch the potholes though. There was a giant one at the street (drive) that you turn onto to get to the hotel. They may be gone but as of the first part of June it was horrendous. The breakfast was varied and the food tasted good. Eggs, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, assorted pastries, and yogurt. The eggs were cooked just right - I don't like runny soggy eggs. The breakfast area is small and getting around people can sometimes be challenging. And turning left is a huge challenge also. Traffic can be almost non-stop and it could take a long while to get out. The air conditioner is the new kind that clicks off/on so if you don't like that, bring a sound machine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy_Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois G, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. I am glad that you were happy with the staff and the quality of food at breakfast. I would like to apologize in regards to the potholes coming into the lot. We have been dealing with many local companies to get this rectified as the road is shared by 6 businesses. They are anticipating a traffic light with another new business coming across the street (on the other side of Viewmont Drive). Regardless, I know the traffic and the road conditions are a major inconvenience. We do value your feedback and hope if you are in the Scranton area you will give us another opportunity to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights recently. Everyone we met was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. The hotel was nice and clean. We would definitely go back if we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanA552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois G, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your response! We look forward to welcoming you back whenever in the Scranton area! Thank you for your business as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Scranton
Residence Inn Scranton
#7 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Scranton

Property: Fairfield Inn Scranton
Address: 949 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing