We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

For starters, we are Marriot reward members and wanted to find a nice hotel inside of Scranton for the least amount of points. This one looked very nice online, and mostly the same in person. It is situated in a small plaza also including a Residence Inn as well as a Japanese restaurant . Next door there is also a Staples and Best Buy for any electronics lovers!
My family and I came to this hotel mainly because we could use or gain points, and also because we had tickets to see the Scranton Wilkes Barre Yankees. When you first arrive you enter into a somewhat small lobby with a pool and breakfast area nearby. We got our room and noticed a bad smell like mold or mildew. Having allergies to both of these we called down to the lobby and they got us a new room right away.
Unfortunately we did have this issue, however service was great to address this issue. Our new room, just like the other is basically like any other Marriot hotel. Very nice, pretty clean and up to date. There were some small crumbs, cookies etc. left from the previous visitor, however nothing major. The air conditioning works extremely well and cooled off the room on a hot summer day.
A couple small disappointments arose during our visit, but again nothing really major. Watch out for the showers, the water does not go out easily, and you are standing holding the plug for 10 minutes. Also the pool is very shallow, considering the deep end is 4 ft. The storage room was constantly open, leaving an unpleasant look to a seemingly nice hotel. Lastly, the breakfast was just average for a Marriot! No eggs, bacon or any of the usual hot foods.
In the end, I did enjoy my stay here for the most part. The only thing I would change is bringing the quality more up to the full Marriot state. I would give this hotel a 3.5 but first of all I can't, and secondly the service here was outstanding, so they are the ones who deserve the good grade.

Room Tip: Pretty nice size, nice tv, not a #1 bathroom though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Klawiter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that our employees were able to handle the inconvenience of the smokey room to your liking and that you enjoyed our service overall. We will be keeping a closer eye on the details in the rooms. I do apologize for not having the hot items that you were looking for on our breakfast bar, however our breakfast is a deluxe continental and not a hot breakfast as you might find at other marriott hotels. We have added hard boiled eggs and bacon and egg sandwhiches to our breakfast. Hope you come back and stay with us again next time you are in the Scranton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    96
    59
    18
    5
See reviews for
98
53
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I am a Lifetime Gold Marriott Rewards member.

In many ways, this is a standard Fairfield Inn. It begins its descent from "standard" to "poor" with cigarette burns in guestroom furniture and upholstery, an oddly handicap inaccessible front door, an indifferent staff, and a breakfast that lacked any source of protein.

On this trip I stayed at a Renaissance Hotel, a Marriott, and three other Fairfield Inns. Overall, the Marriott brands are slipping, but this one was, by far, the worst.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrooklynRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand as a Gold Member. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are up to Marriott standards with our breakfast as well as our front doors. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clean hotel. Staff very friendly. Location close to shopping and dining. Decor a little dated but clean Marriott property.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your response and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I decided to "walk-in" to the hotel and check availability. I was told only a king was available for a higher price then I had seen online (I checked in my ipad in the car before I walked in). I said I had seen 2 queen beds for a cheaper price but was told this wasn't available. So I went back to the car, booked the reservation on-line and then walked back in and checked in. Not sure why the hotel did not have the same offer I saw on-line.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your response. I apologize for that inconvenience. Our computer system and what you see online should reflect the same availability. We will keep a closer eye on this in the future to make sure both are accurate so that this doesnt happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were in town for one night for the Spring NASCAR race. Hotel is what you can expect of a Fairfield Inn, but the location is more than perfect for those in town for the race. Hotel is located just off the highway with many food options withing a 2-5 min driving distance. We were able to get to the exit for the track in less than 30 mins. We also watched the Belmont Stakes at the Mohegan Sun Casino (also less than 30 mins away). Highly recommend as a perfect place to stay before and after the race.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and was convenient for everything you were in town for. Come back and visit soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

For a sub-$100 hotel...WHATTYA WANT??

It's a Marriott. It's fine. And it's a great rate. It's close to shooping, dining, etc. Not far from Scranton proper. Clean enough for me. Don't be scared by the negative reviews. It may not be the NICEST Marriott, but Fairfield Inns in my experience are usually the lower-echelon of the Marriott family. This one is not the worst FI I have been to. And even the ones that were worse, were fine, really.

Get over it. It's a $90 a night CLEAN hotel with a pool/gym room/free breakfast/free wifi/in a good location. STOP COMPLAINING!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCNJRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

this hotel is not a bad hotel. it's a bit older than the Fairfield Inn in Wilkes-Barre, which i stayed at before, so i was expecting it to be a bit nicer. the rooms were clean and roomy but did not have refridgerators like the Fairfield in Wilkes-Barre. it also costs about $30 a night more than the WB one, which i don't understand because it isn't as nice. overall, i'd say it's an ok place to stay but if you can, i'd suggest staying at the WB location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
404 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
608 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Scranton

Property: Fairfield Inn Scranton
Address: 949 Viewmont Dr, Scranton, PA 18519-1663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing