We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family restaurant”
Review of Viewmont Diner

Viewmont Diner
Ranked #55 of 303 Restaurants in Scranton
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The menu has a good variety that includes some Greek options. The teriyaki is awful, but most of the dishes are good. This is a good place to get a meal without spending a fortune.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbaradetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I went here for breakfast. It was good and at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vickere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ok if you are in a hurry and not too demanding”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yes, very diner like in all aspects. The food is fresh and nicely prepared. Servers are attentive and bring out dishes as soon as the kitchen plates them. The interior is clean and brightly lighted, but slightly worn down looking. They are open 24 hours 7 days a week. The printed menu is extensive and easy to read. They serve typical diner fare. The best bets are the breakfast items like pancakes, eggs, and bacon. The buyer tends to buy lower priced food, like lowest priced eggs. The yolks on the sunny side up eggs are the smallest and flattest I have ever seen. Yes, they are fresh, but also nickel sized yolks. The corned beef hash is more potato than beef. Home fries are perfectly cooked, seasoned, and tasty. Burgers are a good choice any time of the day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kids love it.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I'm from NJ, and this is the closest you'll come to an authentic Jersey Diner experience. The kids love going there, and there's something for everyone on the menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJones15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Tried it for the first time ever on Thursday and went again on Friday, lol. First day we all had burgers. I had the chili-cheese burger with fries and coleslaw. I loved it all. I loved it so much I went back the next day. I got the egg salad sandwich and my mom got the BLT. She wanted me to add that the bacon was perfectly cooked with no fat on it. We had 3 desserts. I had the cannoli cake (which was sooo good). My mom had the cheesecake which was awesome and my daughter had the chocolate cake which was good, but that one looked better than it tasted. I love how all the desserts were on display and it really is a diner. I didn't find it dirty at all, just older. It wasn't as cheap as some of the other reviews said, but it wasn't expensive either. The servers both days were amazing and I wish I wasn't leaving because I would go there again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetcis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viewmont Diner also viewed

 

Been to Viewmont Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing