We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History under your feet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lackawanna County Coal Mine

Lackawanna County Coal Mine
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tour will take you 300 feet below the earth into the pitch blackness old-time miners, some as young as seven or eight, had to face. While you won’t have to deal with poisonous gases, you will feel the chill. The Lackawanna Coal Mine Tour is open from April 1st through November 30th and is closed only on Thanksgiving Day.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History under your feet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is an interesting place but little kids may get scared by dark and way deep in the earth. But for people who are scared of dark and under ground place, some history is to be seen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AishaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    104
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do if visiting ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I love Scranton ! You must must must do the coal mine tour ! It's so cool down underground If you do go maybe bring a coat just in case . If you do go also do the museum ! Very
Historical place

Helpful?
Thank volpeg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

One of the best attractions/tours we have been on in a long time. The gift shop had a good selection and prices were reasonable. Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained.

We were greeted as we walked in and purchased our tickets. It was a short wait until the next tour and they informed us that they were just starting a short movie while we waited for our tour. It provided you with alot of background and history of the area and mining. Our trip started promptly on time. The ride in the car into the mine was a great experience and something we won't soon forget.

Once in the mine our guide was very knowledgable and answered any question we thru at him. He took the time to answer all questions and wasn't hurried to move you along. I think it is a big plus to have guides that have worked in this industry first hand and are experienced vs: staff that just go off a script and tell you they are told to. You can tell a lot of time and work have been put into this.

It is a unique experience and how many people can say they have been that far underground. I would highly recommend this tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoNow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't count on them being open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I called this morning (the day after Thanksgiving) checking if they were open and was informed they were. Arrived at 2:10pm after a 70 mile drive to find a note on the door saying they were closed at 2:00pm today. The website says the last tour is at 3:30.
I called from the parking lot and was told that they closed early because it had been very busy and the tour guides were tired and cold. Thanks, now I can drive my 10 year old disappointed son 70 miles back home.
I was told I was welcome to come back tomorrow!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Bethel, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful scenery, clean bathrooms, good gift shop AWSOME coal mine ride and tour.
Guides were informative and friendly.
The anthracite museum is a wonderful way to end your day and it's with in walking distance of the mine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lackawanna County Coal Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing