We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Scranton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Scranton
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Throop, Pa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Looked for a nearby place to spend 1 evening with an indoor pool for the 2 grandchildren and chose this property. All in all in was a great choice and receiving the retired military rate was a plus. The whole staff and weekend General Mgr were extremely helpfull and polite. Facilities were clean and comp breakfast was great, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes,sausage gravy,fruits, pastrie, etc, etc. Dining options are numerous and all in a 1 mile area; Olive Garden,Red Lobster,Texas Roadhose,Panera Bread,Red Robin,UNO Piizzeria 2 Chinese Buffets, 2 pizzza (Italian restaurants) Dennys and all fast food places plus a few ole fashion diners. Shopping also; Wal-Mart, Target, Lowes, Home Depot and a Mall. If you spend 1 or more days you have it all. Quiet, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: 1st floor good for pool and hot tub use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEThroop_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda E, General Manager at Residence Inn Scranton, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for the kind feedback regarding your stay at the Scranton Residence Inn by Marriott. I'm truly happy you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Yours in hospitality,
Amanda E
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    56
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
74
23
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel seems a little dated in decor, but it is clean and we were very comfortable. Breakfast was okay, nothing special. I was not impressed with the hot breakfast food. Scrambled eggs, home "fries", canadian turkey bacon and sausage hash. They have a waffle maker but I don't like waffles. That is typical of these kinds of complimentary breakfasts. Standard fare, bagels w/cream cheese, pastry, English muffins, etc. I think the best was the cooked oatmeal.

No one should ever think they can get a good night's sleep on the sofa sleeper. We had a one bedroom suite and I slept on the sofa sleeper. I knew ahead of time that it was going to be bad, so I brought my 4" folding memory foam mattress and I slept fine. Mom loved the regular bed in the bedroom. This type of room is good for families, but I would bring a nice thick mattess topper for any children who you are going to put on that sleeper sofa. The hotel accepts animals, and they keep track of which room the animals were in and when. This is important to me because I am allergic to dogs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARE1103, Manager at Residence Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for the kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Rooms were clean and comfortable and the entire staff was super friendly, happy and very helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aninnreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARE1103, General Manager at Residence Inn Scranton, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in. The staff has gone above our typical hotel experience to make the stay nice. We arrive late with sleepy kids. Samantha checked us in and walked us too our room with additional linen to help out. She even offered to make the pull out for the kids before leaving! The managers and staff have greeted us each time we walk by with a smile and hurrying to help open doors. When I needed to print boarding passes the computer was not working, an employee left his desk in his office to allow me to print passes. The hotel is clean and standard Residence Inn. The breakfast was clean and good. Fairly standard with an extra bit of attention to make it a nice meal.
I am still impressed by the service though because it is rare to see all around great customer service from everyone encountered in a business. One negative is staff sitting in the courtyard smoking. Though unappealing, I did not smell the smoke.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahurwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This Inn is hard to find and the roads getting there are poorly maintained and marked. That said, it's not the Inns fault but the Inn's location is still hard to find but it is pet friendly, the staff nice, and there are numerous food options close to it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

For a Residence Inn ok, studios very spacy but for the bathroom, I am missing a wastebin in the bathroom, there is only one in the kitchen.The bathtub has a black bottom it looks dirty, the one in our 2nd room as well, so they need to be replaced. Except for these critics, breakfast was as expected, staff very friendly. No extra benefit for gold/platinum Marriott member as larger room. Recommend for transit place to stay as there is not very much else to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel was fairly nice, spacious rooms, comfortable weekend. Our room was quite from hotel noise but on our side there was a lot of road noise fro Rt 81. Service was good and friendly. We needed to use the fold out sofa but there was no linens or blankets. Beds were comfortable. Pool was nice but the jets on the spa did not work. The location was a bit tricky to find the first time even with the gps. Lots of restaurants close by. Overall it was nice, good but not great.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wantwogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scranton hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Scranton

Property: Residence Inn Scranton
Address: 947 Viewmont Dr, Scranton, PA 18519-1663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Scranton 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning service and convenience at the favorite extended stay hotel- the Scranton Residence Inn! Our superior location is only a few miles from major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops and entertainment destinations. In addition, our hotel is in the heart of Northeastern PA's Oil and Gas region and only minutes from many healthcare facilities including CHS, Geisinger, TMG, and Allied. You'll feel right at home with complimentary perks that include daily hot American breakfast buffet and a social hour three nights a week featuring light fare with beer and wine. Guests enjoy access to our 24-hour fitness and business centers, indoor pool, and grocery shopping service. Our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and free Wi-Fi. We're pet friendly, too! Are you a frequent Marriott guest? Take advantage of the exclusive Marriott Rewards Program. Whether traveling for work or play, make the smart choice of extended-stay hotels in Scranton, PA - Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Scranton Hotel Scranton
Residence Inn Dickson City
Dickson City Residence Inn
Scranton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing