We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
201 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a bit of a hill and can be a liitle tricky to get to but you have some great views of the surrounding mountains. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and spacious. There are also many good restaurants and things to do nearby.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DNDSZ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and the views. Come back during fall foliage season and you'll really be impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    117
    50
    20
    18
See reviews for
146
103
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The front desk staff were professional, personable, and informative on all 3 shifts. Check in was quick with my room keys waiting for me. The room was very clean, neat, comfortable. There were ample towels, pillows and blankets. Since these are suites there is a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and other extras. Fresh chocolate chip cookies at the coffee bar at 7pm. The coffee bar was open 24/7. Breakfast had a good selection: hard boiled eggs, scrambled, sausage patties, yogurts, fresh fruit, make your own waffles, variety of cereals, fruit juices, muffins, breads and sweet rolls. If you can't find something you like, you are hard to please. Every review needs a negative: two cracked bathroom floor tiles, OMG. This is not the palace full of marble, but like I said earlier, very comfortable. I have never been in a hotel where it was totally quiet and this is no different. The lady with the big mouth across the hall decided to scream at her son down the hall. Rude people can be found everywhere. Easy on easy off interstate 81 just 5 minutes from downtown Scranton, Pa.

I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stay away from ice machine, elevator and stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoNewHaven_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the noisy neighbor. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family just got back from this trip last night but I was anxious to review it!!! The hotel location is amazing! Traveling with us was my niece and her mom plus my 3 girls. We booked the 2 bedroom king suite and It was amazing! The space!! Each bedroom had 1 king bed plus an en suite bathroom. The living area had a pullout sofa, kitchen table, microwave, stove and full refrigerator. The hotel was a bit outdated but really it was well maintained. The staff was so incredible. Because of my late arrival, they accommodated a late check out so I could spend some more time with my family and friends near by. I can't thank them enough for that. I have spent plenty of time in hotels in the area and this has been the best yet. The pool was great, the hot tub was operable with plenty of towels for everyone. Guests were pleasant too. There are washers and dryers on every floor along with vending machines and ice machines. One small issue I had, and I got over it very fast, is that housekeeping needs to clean the window sills. There was mold at around the frame. Just needs a good wipedown. Other than that small thing, I can't wait to go back in a few months.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom king suite is absolutely a great value for bigger families!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineZ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you and your family stay with us again on your next visit to Scranton. We'll get that window sill taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel is easily accessible from & to Interstate 81. Room is spacious, bathroom does not have much counter space. Breakfast was O.K but everyone was looking for bread for toast and attendant was not very helpful.(Seemed like he did not want to work on this day).
Check-out was easy and well done. No restaurants within walking distance, had to go in car to closest shopping center.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are a bit quieter but cannot complain about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. We've tried putting out bread for toast in the past with few takers but we will be offering it again within the next few days. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

WE have stayed here on our trip north for the past few years as it has easy access to the 81/84. Rooms are large and clean. Used to go to Muggs for dinner but this restaurant is now closed, however the staff provided names of restaurants that deliver which included Ruby Tuesdays. We tried it and were not disappointed, although not steaming hot was not cold either. Actually enjoyed eating in after long day on the road. Breakfast was very good, scrambled eggs, etc. Will continue staying here. A little hard to find as it is hidden behind a Hampton Inn when you enter the common driveway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelldrake9r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the friendliness of Jan at the front desk, to the cleanliness of the room, to receiving printed directions to a nearby restaurant, this was a very nice place to stay. Easy on, easy off I-81 and located within easy travel to all parts of Scranton.

Room Tip: The Wireless access on the first floor was excellent....not sure about upper floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I'll let Jan know that her efforts were appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night on our way to Connecticut. All the employees were very friendly and we were able to obtain a AAA rate. Hot breakfast and 24 hour coffee was a definite plus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFairLady718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2.7 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
2.7 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 44 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507-1753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scranton
Comfort Suites Scranton
Scranton Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing