We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are frequent travelers and usually stay at a Comfort Suites. We were very pleased with the establishment and don't understand the adverse comments from previous reviewers (most of them 2-5 years old).

Our room was spotless, the bath and lavatory areas simillarly so, and the entire suite the largest we have seen in a Comfort Suites Hotel. Shower was the best ever! I don't usually gush about a place, but this is a good hotel and highly recommended.

Why 4.8 out of a possible 5? A few little things.....
1. The hot portion of the breakfast was so-so (overcooked eggs and sausages a bit underone. Other than that, a nice setup with a lot of fresh things to munch on - very good coffee.
2. Could hear guests on the floor above but not overly bothersome.
3. Desk does not have a good listing of various restaurant styles (see MandG Pittsburgh_Pa review of La Trattoria in Scranton).

All said and done, a good place to stay. We will stay again on our return to Scranton to visit the Carriage Barn Antiques in Clark Summit, PA.

Late-breaking news.....Found the answer to the ratings mystery! Talked to the manager and he advised how the entire housekeeping staff from supervisor on down has been totally replaced with fresh, eager employees. The results are obvious....keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandGPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We have made every effort to correct any shortcomings that we've had and are happy to see that our efforts are noticed. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at one of the local restaurants and have instructed my staff to offer more to choices to our guests.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    123
    52
    21
    20
See reviews for
151
107
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Mn
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a very nice spacious room. The staff was most helpful. We loved being able to find the hotel easily but not have to deal with traffic noise.. When you are traveling and get sick it is especially nice to have a quiet place to put your head!!!! The Marvelous Muggs next door had good food. The fresh cookies always make you feel better!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdyHugo_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son is now a senior at the University of Scranton and we have been coming here for 4 years to visit during family weekend. This hotel will not disappoint. The location is great being very close to the university and a fantastic value. When my son first came school in Scranton I started looking for hotels. The Radission & Sheraton which are nice and walking distance to the University were priced at over $100 per night and that was with the university rate, and you are getting a basic room. The comfort suites offers a fantastic university rate of and the room are huge. They have 2 queen beds, a small sitting area with a pull out and a small kitchenette. They have a great complimentary breakfast every morning. More than just coffee and muffins, they have fresh waffles, eggs, fruit , yogurt etc. This is well worth it and a great way to save money. The rooms have always been clean, well stocked and the front desk personel are always friendly, helpful and accommodating. One year we visiting with several members of our extended family and we booked a 2 bedroom suite. This room had a full kitchen and living room with 2 bathrooms. My son will be graduating in May 2013 and we will be staying here one last time. I will miss our family's road trips to Scranton and our stays at The Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainecaraccio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts. We've gotten to know many U of S parents over the years and always look forward to your visits to Scranton. Congratulations on the upcoming Graduation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kechi, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A fine property from the staff to the room itself. Loads of amenities.This property has it all, from ski lockers to a game room that could rival some arcades. Bri at the desk was a real sweetheart and very helpful. The location made it easy to get back on the interstate but not so close that you could hear the traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you! I will let Bri know that her efforts have not gone unrecognized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The suites are fantastic! Whether it was one room sharing a living room and and kitchen and your own connected bathroom with ur private bedroom or ur own big bed with all amenities, it was awesome. Very clean and very professional. Great job comfort suites! I was impressed!! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you! We agree that Suites are the only way to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a truly exceptional hotel! We stayed in Room 113 - it has columns, arches, microwave, fridge, cabinets (!), a couch, a coffee table, dining table, nightlight, luxurious bedding, an ironing board concealed behind a mirror, an "almost" walk in closet behind another large mirror. They provide a daily newspaper, hot and cold breakfast, a sun deck and right next door is Magnificent Mugs Restaurant which I highly recommend! The restaurant serves "home-style" meals and the portions are huge!!! They have indoor and outdoor dining - the view of the mountains from outside is simply beautiful. We didn't want to leave this hotel (- it was so much better than the $300 room we had in Toronto.) We usually stay at LaQuintas but this has added another "go to " hotel to our list of preferred hotels!!! If you're in the Scranton area, do yourself a favor and stay here - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Room 113 is sheer luxury for a very affordable price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REDSOXFANTASTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were driving south and needed a pit stop for the night. We found the Comfort Suites from the sign on the interstate. We were pleased that the room only cost $80 for the night. We found the room to be rather luxurious for the dollar amount paid, and very comfortable. There was a nice sitting area in the room, and it certainly was a pleasant space. The bed was comfortable and the water was hot in the shower. We were also pleased with the complimentary breakfast. There was plenty of tasty items to eat including made-to-order waffles, bacon, sausage, muffins, juice, eggs, and yogurt. The breakfast was very good, and would have cost almost $20 at the waffle house. I hadn't stayed at the Comfort Suites before, we will in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We prefer to use the word affordable but we're glad you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2.7 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 44 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507-1753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scranton
Comfort Suites Scranton
Scranton Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing