We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very nice hotel with easy access to the interstate. Good size indoor pool with whirlpool. Staff was very friendly. My only two complaints were I had to go to another floor for ice and we never got the wake up call we requested the night before. My wife informed the person at the front desk the next morning and never even got an apology.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Scranton. I am glad you enjoyed the pool and whirlpool. I apologize that you did not receive a wakeup call that morning. We do strive for the best customer service so your comment is alarming to me. We hope when you are in the area again you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    204
    68
    33
    15
See reviews for
240
188
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a good stop over for us on our way to upper NY.The easy on/off from expressway and a quick generic check- in were ideal.
They have recently gutted and redid the common areas and it is a nice stab at dragging this older facility into this decade. The rooms must also have been redone as LCD HD TV and granite counters await but the [ ? ]1987 bones of this structure lurk everywhere. There is no hiding of 8 ft ceilings and small rooms and the dark 3rd floor hallway reminding me of " The Shining" movie.
The 2 double matresses were way too soft and lumpy for us but the room was quiet and we could control the AC so we slept okay.The small bathroom shower pressure was adequate and all aspects of the room were spotless. Breakfast was so typical of H. I. it requires no report.
What amazed me throughout my booking research is that this place actually thinks it is worth $143/n and many people relent and pay it. Maybe at the peak of Ski season they can command these fees but no way worth it at other times. We used HHilton points and in retrospect would rec that one merely get a travelers coupon book at the Pennsylvania Welcome center that has numerous $89/n coupons for such upscale rooms in Scranton such as Springdale Suites.
Our room was a typical $99/n room throughout the Hilton Hampton chain everywhere in the USA [ I have been in a hundred ] , maybe some owner is getting greedy?

Room Tip: Back of hotel overlooking mountain and Muggs parking lot is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
In addition to our renovation upgrades we are thrilled to be one of the top hotels in our management company for cleanliness and customer service. We pride ourselves in guest satisfaction and we hope while traveling in the Scranton area you will keep us in mind for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Seeing as I work for a local business next door to the hotel, I occasionally have to stay at the hotel in the winter. Everything is paid for by my company but every single time I'm there the bed and room is clean. There were times during renovations that the hallways looked like Beirut but not any more. Everything is very nice and more high end.
They also have a great complimentary breakfast in the lobby...not just muffins and dry cereal but scrambled eggs and meat as well as Belgium waffles ready to make on the waffle maker yourself and a great assortment. :-)

Great job Hampton!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
As of March 2011 we finished with our full renovation process at the Hampton Inn. I am so glad that you are enjoying the upgrades and changes. Hampton’s on the House Hot Breakfast is every day from 6-10am and the hot items do alternate every day. We look forward to seeing you when the weather changes, but hopefully we have over a month until we see snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I find Hampton Inns to be remarkably reliable and consistently high quality. This is true for this Hampton Inn. Excellent front-desk service. Clean rooms. All room appliances work. This hotel is the standard Hampton Inn layout, with a somewhat larger-than-standard first-floor breakfast area.
This hotel shares a parking lot with the adjacent Comfort Suites, and a pleasant, cleverly built walking trail surrounds the two hotels.
The room rate of $143 was a bit steep for a weekend. The hotel was well-under half filled based on the number of cars in the parking lot. There are Marriott-brand suites nearby and you might want to compare prices.

Room Tip: The mountains on the front side and back side of this hotel are beautiful. Try for the 3rd or 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn Scranton. The Hampton Inn brand strives to be consistent and to stand behind the guarantee “if you’re not 100% satisfied we don’t expect you to pay, that’s 100% Hampton”

I am glad you got to enjoy the trail around our property, if you go around twice its 1.25 miles. Rates for the rooms do vary based on room types and the time of year you are traveling. I hope next time you are coming to Scranton we see you at the Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were 2 families returning from 10 days in NYC and Virginia Beach....chose the Hampton in Scranton because of the distance between VB and our home town of Ottawa.

The hotel was easy to find, clean and the check in process was quick and easy. We arrived after a 12 hour drive (Stay away from I-95) and were inside our rooms within 10 minutes.

Rooms were comfortable, beds were good for sleeping 4 people....

Breakfast in the morning was good, not great...but anywhere you can make your own waffle you know you will get something that tastes good...

Would definitely use this hotel again on another roadtrip...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroom_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Irwin_Vroom_Family- I am so glad you and your family chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Scranton while returning from your family vacation. We are very easy to find just off I-81 exit 182 A and follow the Hampton Inn signs. The Hampton Inn is always trying to come up with different breakfast items, so if you have any suggestions we would enjoy hearing them. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hampton Inn never disappoints. This location was convenient to the interstate, had a beautiful pool room, fantastic breakfast and friendly staff. The room was clean and well appointed. Muggs Restaurant behind the property had a lovely terrace and a menu to suit any taste. Everything you need to recharge after a day in the car is at this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old Hessian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay! Marvelous Muggs is a great restaurant that is in walking distance from our hotel, and on a beautiful day the deck is my favorite place for a meal! I appreciate you taking the time to share your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a very clean hotel and in a great location to the expressway. The breakfast, room, and views were excellent. The service was excellent in the evening shift. The workout room was o.k. The pool room had great views as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain

Property: Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Address: 22 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between the Allegheny Mountains and the Pocono Mountains, our Hampton Inn® hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain is just a mile from one of the most popular ski slopes in the Northeast. In fact, you can even watch skiers on Sno Mountain from our warm and cozy lobby. Reserve a room with a mountain view and fireplace here at the Hampton Inn hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain, and you'll have a recipe for a vacation you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scranton At Montage Mountain Hotel Scranton
Scranton Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Montage Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing