We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We choose Hampton Inns for their consistency of being clean and having the amenities we like. This Hampton met our expectations plus! There were lots of outlets in the room (to charge all our gadgets). The heating/air conditioning worked well. The mini frig & microwave & TV were all nice. The beds were comfortable and clean. The WIFI worked well and the computer in the lobby also worked fine. The pool was large and people were using it. They gave us a map of the area with a map of the hotel floor plan on the other side of the paper, these both are very helpful to have. The lobby is set up that the front desk has a clear view of the front entrance and a rear entrance that comes in to the dining area. The room had an extra sink just outside the bathroom, I don't think that is necessary but this might be handy when a family is using the room. A nice arm chair in the room would have been nice to have. The decor of the hotel is a bit on the modern side so the room chair did not have arms which isn't as comfortable as an arm chair. Our alarm clock did not work properly, a maintenance man did come and realized the clock was unplugged and working off the battery. However, after he plugged it in the dial did light up but we still could not get the alarm to set. We just used the "wake up call" service.

The staff were all welcoming to all the guests. I do want to compliment Rebecca (day shift) & Mark (evening shift) at the front desk, both were especially friendly & helpful. Melissa in housekeeping was probably the friendliest person I have met in a long time. She made me feel at home and did a thorough job of refreshing our room. My husband was on a business trip and I went along with him. I went to get away from my work and to relax and read. The lobby area and an outside seating area were nice for sitting and relaxing & reading my book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the even side of the hallway for the beautiful view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Hello Dee1Dee,

Thank you so much for your kind review!!! We are so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and make your stay with us enjoyable and memorable! I am glad to hear that you were able to utilize so many of the ammenities we offer here at the Hampton Inn Scranton during your stay. Thank you also for your kind compliments on Rebecca and Mark, we do pride ourselves on superior customer service and appreciate you taking the time to note this. We hope to have you as our guest again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    212
    71
    36
    17
See reviews for
253
208
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We used the Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain for a brief overnight stay on the way home from New York City. Located just off of I-81 and adjacent shopping and dining, for a reasonably priced Hampton property this had a very good pool/hot tub combination, in a spacious building off of the main hotel building. One consequence is a reduction of the "chlorine aroma" common to hotel lobbies adjacent pools.

Overall this is a well maintained, standard Hampton Inn property with free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast. We had a brief but restful stay as we continued our way home from the weekend.

Room Tip: When coming from I-81 Southbound onto Montage Mountain Road, look carefully at the freeway intersect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Hello BZT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We greatly value your feedback! Thank you so much for your compliments on our indoor pool and it's location! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A remodeling last summer has turned this hotel into a comfortable and stylish hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable and the bathrooms had lots of space. A good restaurant 2 minutes away makes this the ideal package for an overnight stay in Scranton.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMLBARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hello SMLBARB,

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the recent renovations we have completed! We are so proud of the new hotel and are excited to share it with all of our guests!! We are looking forward to have you as our guest again in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

After the worst ever experience at Econo lodge, Hampton Inn was a saving grace. The hotel was very nice as well as the receptionist. After checking in, I went straight to my room and all I can say was "WOW"! Room was very clean, beddings were new, all the amenities you need in a hotel were available. Wi-fi internet was free and fast. The bed was comfortable and smells clean. Their was a lounge area beside the check in booth and outside the hotel that you can hang out and have some free coffee. A walking distance restaurant was also available if you are too tired to drive out and eat . Breakfast was great with different choices of food and drinks to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_me2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hello mini_me2011,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review after your recent stay with us! We are so happy we were able to be your relief after such a difficult time at another area hotel. Thank you so much for all of the kind compliments you had about our hotel and our ammenities! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

It was over priced for the room and the area. The bathroom did not have a bath only stand up shower. They had the standard breakfast but no afternoon snack.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello ahbaggins,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. In your comment you had written that the bathroom of your room did not have a bath and only had a stand up shower, we just wanted to inform you that the majority of our rooms have baths and stand up showers in the rooms, only a handful of rooms only have the stand up shower. For example our Jacuzzi Suites have only a stand up shower rather than a bath. Our On the House Hot Breakfast does offer a variety of breakfast choices and in addition it also offers 2 hot items, as well as a waffle station, we are sorry that you were not able to take advantage of all of these options during your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future so that we are able to show you all that our property has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed at the Hampton Inn in Scranton with my girlfriend and family for a reunion. Found the rooms to be clean and accomidating. Meeting area where reunion took place was clean and plenty big enough. Pool and workout area clean and a good size. Breakfast in the morning was excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewtownC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello NewtownC29,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are thankful that you took the time to write such a nice review! We have just completed a full renovation of our entire hotel, so we are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the renovations during your stay! We pride ourselves on cleanliness here at the Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain and we thank you for noticing! We would love to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

As a Hilton Honors member, we try to always stay in Hiltons. We are always greeted by name when we arrive but not here. The desk clerks were more interested in visiting with each other than in helping guests.. They were "matter of fact." This Hampton does not live up to expectations. The breakfast arrangement is very awkward. People were complaining about the crowded area where food was delivered. The food was good, but if more than 5 were trying to make toast or get waffles, it was not possible. Upon leaving, nobody said, "Was everything okay?" As a facility, this is very nice and beds are comfortable. .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonScranton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello hoosierhiker,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations, I assure you this is not the standard here at the Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and your experience is not something that happens on a regular basis here at the Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain. We thank you for your compliment on our comfortable beds. We hope to have you as our guest again soon so that we are able to show you our award winning customer service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
2.6 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain

Property: Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Address: 22 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between the Allegheny Mountains and the Pocono Mountains, our Hampton Inn® hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain is just a mile from one of the most popular ski slopes in the Northeast. In fact, you can even watch skiers on Sno Mountain from our warm and cozy lobby. Reserve a room with a mountain view and fireplace here at the Hampton Inn hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain, and you'll have a recipe for a vacation you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scranton At Montage Mountain Hotel Scranton
Scranton Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Montage Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing