We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express - Springfield
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
A TripAdvisor Member
Scranton, PA
18
Reviewed March 20, 2006

DK what room the guy who liked this place got. It sure was nothing like ours. We paid $75 a night for a "nonsmoking" room that reeked of sweat, cigarettes and metabolized alcohol. Hair in the shower and bugs in the bathroom. Graffitti covered the whole bathroom door. The air conditioner/heater had been kicked, dented and torn apart. In fact, most everything was either broken outright, dented or stained. We got woke up at midnight with a wake-up call we presume was meant for the "professional lady" who must sleep there when there is not a big event in town to draw in regular motel clientele. This place was obscene. I've stayed in a variety of hotel/motels and don't ask for much nor have I ever complained. But this was absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2006

Having read the other reviews, I wondered what I was getting into, but I have learned that some people are always complaining about a hotel. My wife and I stayed for one night while attending a conference in Springfield in January of 2006.. We had booked the hotel by phone two months in advance and we checked in at about 6 p.m. without a problem. There was a somewhat loud party in the conference room and I asked the clerk what time it was to end and she assured me that the music would be over by 9 p.m. sharp and it was. We had a non-smoking room as promised. It was very clean. In the morning we had a very nice continental breakfast in a bright breakfast room overlooking a pond where folks were ice fishing. The hotel is within walking and certainly driving distance of several family style restaurants (Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, Bickfords, etc.). For $49 a night I have absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2005

I stayed here last September and was so horrified, My wife and I checked out in the middle of the night! I was trying to avoid a drive back from here to RI, but ended up doing it anyway. First off the front desk staff is a teenager and they have no idea what they are doing. They charged me for te room anyway. Also, there were people walking up and down outside the room and partying and some doing who knows what. I saw some smoking and screaming and running around. It was awfull and this was a Friday night. The rooms are dank and bare and fr the price, its off Boston Road which is scary anyway. Think twice please for your own safety. Even with the door locked I felt scared. Please shop around..pay a bit extra and survive the night.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2005

One of the worst places I've stayed in. People running around all night. Doors slamming, TV on next door at 4:00 AM. Did not sleep at all. Still wonder what type of business was being conducted througout the night.

1  Thank Pvtkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Stayed here for a weekend trip to 6 Flags and wouldn't repeat the experience. A lot of construction seemed to be going on and maybe for the better, but hotel needs general spruce up and rooms need a good cleaning. Our drapes fell off the window (rod and all) when we tried to close them; took 2 calls and a couple of hours to get it fixed; toilet was cracked and overflowed when flushed; temperature was impossible to regulate - either roasting or freezing. Front desk staff was pleasant but not very helpful. Wouldn't recommend this one - really disappointed since I've had other positive Howard Johnson experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epatriciag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2004

This was the worst motel I've ever stayed in. We had 2 rooms reserved for a July 2004 night. Our room was especially bad, though the other some of the same problems ours did. Our room had a 4 foot-long area of black mold on the ceiling over the shower, and the room smelled strongly of cat urine. When we took a shower there was an unpleasant odor that we smelled, but couldn't pinpoint the source. The upholstered chairs were badly stained, a lampshade was torn and cracked, and the carpet appeared not to have been vacuumed. The sink was supported by bare unfinished wooden 1 x 1's, and the curtains were so long they interfered with the operation of the air conditioner. The blanket on one of the beds was old and was badly pilling. The mattresses and box springs all had sideways bulges from being compressed over time. The wallpaper was peeling around the ceiling in some areas, and there was a 3-inch by 2-inch hole in the dry wall near the window. There was no luggage rack in the room. Our companions' room had a refrigerator and a microwave, but ours did not. When we arrived not all of the towels were there and some of those that were looked a bit dirty. The room next to ours was being rented out on a long term basis, and another room on the same wing had become an appraisal business. The front of the hotel is a sea of asphalt with only 8 small bushes as landscaping. This appears to be an old motel that has been partially renovated over the years.

The only bright spot was the very small pool, which was a little cold, but very very clean.

I counted only about 73 rooms, despite the 100 advertised rooms. There was a small detached wing containing at least 4 rooms on the west side of the parking lot that were no longer in use, giving a dilapidated look to the place, and the detached section on the east side had been converted into a sandwich shop. The property across the street from the motel is vacant, boarded up, with graffiti on it.

We couldn't get any sleep until 1 AM due to a noisy rock band which was playing about 1/8 mile away on the shore of a pond in the back of the motel starting about 9 PM. Despite our calls to the front desk and to the Springfield, MA police, the music continued unabated until 1 AM when it finally stopped.

The management was generally unresponsive and the place seems understaffed, since we were told we would have to come to the front desk to get the missing towels. They advertise that a manager is on duty or available at all times, but this was not the case. We never were able to see the manager at all.

Although the price was low, this motel was not worth the money, and I do not feel it is up to the standards of an international hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TessBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard j, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express - Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
6.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ludlow
6.7 mi away
Best Western Springfield West Inn
Best Western Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilbraham Inn
Wilbraham Inn
#1 of 1 in Wilbraham
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express - Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express - Springfield

Address: 1356 Boston Rd, Springfield, MA 01119-1334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: $65 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Express - Springfield 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Express - Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Howard Johnson Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing