We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for Springfield and area but parking is extra.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Springfield
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Springfield and area but parking is extra.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights for a trip to Six Flags in late May (around a 10 minute drive). The hotel was very nice. The room was what we expected for a hotel of this class. The lobby and common areas were great, very impressive. The only negative was that parking was expensive (not included in the room rate) and the valet service was not the quickest. If you were going to go in and out a lot it could be annoying. The staff was very friendly. We even met the Wiggles in the lobby which was a big treat for our 4 year old. If you need to be in Springfield this is a good choice. I will stay there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank puremega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    175
    120
    63
    41
See reviews for
161
98
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

Our family (2 adults 1 10year old boy) stayed here in Feb 2007. The review is based on "Club Level" room.

The "Club Level" is the 12th floor (highest floor) accessible only by key card in the elevator. The club level cost only $30 per night extra but was well worth it. The "Sweet sleeper" beds are very high end sheets, comforters and pillows normally only found in very high end hotels. The room was overall appointed richly and pleasently. The bathroom was huge with two sinks, marble floors and a very large jacuzzi tub. Club level also entitels you to use the lounge on the club floor. From 5pm - 9pm they had free sodas/water, light hot hors' d'ouvers, coffee, etc. Hard stuff is available for extra cost. From 7am to 9am they have free continental breakfast - bagels, danish, cereal, etc. All very nice. They also have a large plasma TV there and two internet accessible computers with a printer.


We visited the pool and it (and the exercise room/area) was staffed by friendly folks more than willing to help with towels and lockers. The pub had nice light fare (wings, wonderful french onion soup, etc) at a hotel reasonable price. All staff were helpful and the hotel was generally clean and comfortable. (one exception was room service trays which stayed in the hallways from 3pm to midnight.) Parking was an extra $9.95 a night and they had a lot of it and we could valet it or park it our self for the same price.

In short, we would certainly stay here again although the Marriot right across the street gets similar reviews. Since there was nothing we could imagine being better for the price we'd do the Shearaton again (and will, this Fall for the "Big E")

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TegansDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

One-night stay during MLK holiday weekend. We got the room for $51 ($64 with taxes) from Priceline. The staff was nothing but pleasant during check-in, and even called up to our room to get our Starwood Preferred Guest number since they forgot to enter it at the desk.

This was my first stay at this property, but it apparently has undergone a recent renovation per their website. Our room on the 11th floor of the 12-floor hotel was both clean and spacious. The view of the CT River (and I-91) was nothing special, but no one goes to Springfield, MA for views of the skyline. The noise from the highway was barely audible and did not disturb our sleep or otherwise.

Based on my previous stay at the Marriott across the street one year earlier, the Sheraton is a nicer property and is generally available at a cheaper rate. Both are easily accessible from I-91 and are in walking distance to a Springfield Falcons game and the museums.

Parking in the Sheraton garage is $9.95 a night (bring your ticket to the front desk and they give you a pass for in and out purposes). A cheaper parking option is to use the I-91 parking structures across from the hotel and use the walkway to get to the hotel. I prefer a hotel parking garage for security purposes.

The Sheraton has indoor access to Tower Square, a sort of mini-mall that is a ghost town (like 90% of Springfield) during the weekend with the exception of Dunkin Donuts and Gus & Pauls (a sitdown/take-out deli).

If you do not like using Priceline, your only other options in the area for the $60-70 price level are in West Springfield. Based on the local news reports, Springfield is the lesser of two evils when the sun sets.

Besides the fact the the TV-based menu system for movies, view your bill, etc. was not working during our stay, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank isles_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

I had originally planned to stay in the marriot which is directly across the road, however they were full. The reception girl was quick and efficient. On exiting the elevator you are hit by pink everywhere. And its a real old fashioned pink, if there is such a thing). The room was clean but the whole place could do with a overhaul very 80's. We had a snack in the sports bar which do very nice hot chicken wings. Its ok for a one night stay but a week would drag out. Parking costs $10 per night.

  • Liked — the chicken wings
  • Disliked — its pink
  • Tips/Secrets — the marriott looked nice !
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

Stayed here one night for a visit to Six Flags New England. I reserved a Six Flags Package from the hotel and paid only about $60 for the room after deducting the costs of the amusement park tickets. The Sheraton is a nice atrium style hotel and the room and general facility were very clean. The indoor pool was pretty big and nicer than expected. Food was "ok". Six Flags is about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. All in all a nice hotel for an overnight or 2 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank raincheck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed August 7 & 8, purpose Six Flags. I originally was going to book the Marriott across the street, but changed my mind after reading the reviews, Thank You Trip Advisor.
The hotel is easy to find, parking was confusing, the sign says " Public Parking". At check in we got a parking pass ($9.95) we only stayed 1 night, so not sure if it is a one time fee or nightly.
Check in was a breeze, they got our room and requests right. We stayed in a double queen/non-smoking room and requested a roll-away ($10.00). We stayed on the 10th floor. The room was clean, and quiet, we couldn't even hear the traffic. The decor was nice, the furniture looked alittle worn, but from cleaning. They brought the roll-away up within 10 minutes, and followed up with a phone call. The beds were comfortable, even
the roll away, and the pillows were amazing.
The bathroom was clean (no mold here). we requested extra towels, and they were brought right away. My only complaint would be it would have been nice to have the vanity outside of the actual bathroom as there were 5 of us. The room was average size, even with the rollaway we weren't stepping over each other.
For dinner we ventured outside the hotel. Being from NH we did not know the area. We picked rest. out of the phone book and the girl at the front desk used Map Quest and printed out directions for us.
The girls used the pool and jacuzzis. If we go to Six Flags again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TraciofNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

I went to this hotel for a wedding once. Apparently they were not prepared enough for the reception because I had to wait an hour and a half after everyone else to get my food. I was sitting at a table of eight people and the dishes were not complicated. First everyone else was served while we waited until we realized that we were not going to be served. Finally they sent us food half an hour later. The problem with this food was that it was freezing. I do not enjoy eating freexing chicken. I got mad and demanded warmer food. They sent us warmer food about close to an hour later. Surprisingly, they sent us free dinner coupons for everyone seated at the table. The night was not as entirely awful as it was seeming. The overall atmosphere was wonderful and the wedding turnied out beautiful. However, the food service was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constantvacationer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Marriott
#6 of 7 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
1.5 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naomi's Inn
Naomi's Inn
#4 of 7 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Property: Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Address: 1 Monarch Pl, Springfield, MA 01144-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield's largest hotel, The Sheraton Springfield Monarch Place Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just minutes away from several of Springfield's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Springfield At Monarch Place Hotel Springfield
Sheraton Monarch Place
Springfield Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing