We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Parking a nightmare”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is an old hotel, the room had a new bed but everything else was old including the TV. The bathroom was dark, not enough light to put on make up, And the exhaust fan was constantly on making a loud noise, so the bathroom door must be closed to hear the TV ! The parking garage was constantly FULL - so had to park in a parking lot down the street. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon_Mgt, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
We are sorry your perception of our hotel is old. We have spent five million dollars redoing the hotel with an emphasis on public space and rooms. We are part of "The Sheraton revitalization program" and continue to update our product.

The parking garage has limited amount of spaces and we provide parking in alternate lots right next to the hotel. We hope you will give us a chance to enhance your last experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    184
    127
    68
    41
See reviews for
166
102
27
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My Visit to the Sheraton was a brief 2 night and 3 days stay for a college event near the Hotel. The Sheraton was a clean, presentable and comfortable stay, located in downtown Springfield. The property is an older one but seemed to be well kept. There were assorted restaurants in the mall accessible from the lobby which was handy. Room rates for the weekend I stayed were higher than I expected and nearly 3 x that the following weekend under the same booking codes. Can't speak to the internet other than it was expensive, like $15 a day which seems well out of place in today’s wireless world. Also noted that parking was another expensive fee considering the location of the hotel. Dinner at the sports bar downstairs was comparable to eating in an airport in the way of cost and value. I stayed down the street in a Homewood Suites property the week after my stay here and had a much better experience and found much better value for my money. In summary, A clean, comfortable and nice stay - but be ready for all the extra charges, fee's and expense.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bravosix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here for business conference for 3 nights at the end of April.

The main reason for booking this hotel was because of its proximity to MassMutual convention center.

Like the title says, our group expected a little more from a Sheraton property. You could tell that it had been a few years since the hotel received an upgrade. That being said it felt very clean. The rooms matched the overall feel of the hotel - a little dated, but very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We would have had difficulty sleeping if not for the fact we were really tires after our meetings - Our room faced the river (nice view), but the elevated highway made it a bit noisy in the room.

Service was excellent! Front desk staff members were really helpful and felt genuine in offering directions and suggestions for restaurants. Calling up for extras in the room was a breeze and they delivered quick. Truly, we could find no fault with the staff.

Like mentionned, the location is ideal for downtonw Springfield, where you have access to almost anything imaginable, including great restaurants.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and it deserves a solid 3 star rating.

Room Tip: River facing rooms - great view, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degrace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The good:
Price was not too high.
The inner design of the hotel actually looked impressive.
Pretty good view of the city from my room.
Room was not spacious but big enough.
Not as noisy as we expected. But it could just be our luck or the fact that we checked in after mid-night.

The not so good:
Arrived at 1am. The hotel garage was full. I was asked to park at the nearby garage and charged 13$. Not too bad but it will be better if I paid 10$ as other hotel guests.
Not enough sign to guide you from the garage to hotel lobby, because one access door was locked after mid-night. There should have been a sign to let you know how to take the alternative. We were lost for a while. And this happened to some other guests too.

The room was clean but the decorations were not that you would expect from a 4-star hotel. For example, the TV was a pretty old tube, not LCD.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Rooms were as expected, base rate was good, everything else is extra. Bar on 2 is fun and I heard the breakfast was good although I missed it. Great view of springfield. V comfortable beds, large hotel. Free computers in the lobby. Parking garage is tight, be careful. Centrally located with some blues bars, and other bars nearby. couldnt get the internet to work in my room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefulcitydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Went to stay at this hotel for our wedding, check in was courteous and quick even when we arrived early in the day. The room was clean, nice and cofortable. Connection of the hotel with the shopping next door was nice however there should be more options for food and shopping. Nice place to get to the computer look around on the internet. Wished we had time to go to the pool and fitness center, it certainly looked nice. Overall its a nice hotel to stay not over the top.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joules100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to make such a kind review of our hotel. I appreciate you pointing out how clean our hotel is and the proximity to shopping and restaurants. I hope next time you come you can try out our pool ( It's enormous) and some of the local eats. We have some amazing ethnic food within walking distance including Cafe Lebanon and Sitars. Best Wishes & Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyoke, ma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I recently stayed at the Sheraton while I was in Springfield to see a play. As soon as I walked in I was greeted by a fantastic staff. Hotel was very clean and I slept well. Decided to have a hamburger at the restaurant and it was great. Will definitely suggest this hotel to friends when they are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotels, Area Director of Guest Relations at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to fill out such a kind review of our hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I have no doubt that our proximity to Center Stage made your evening that much more convenient and special. We hope to see you again soon!

Ashley Picknelly-Vassallo
Area Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Marriott
#6 of 8 in Springfield
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naomi's Inn
Naomi's Inn
#4 of 8 in Springfield
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Property: Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Address: 1 Monarch Pl, Springfield, MA 01144-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield's largest hotel, The Sheraton Springfield Monarch Place Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just minutes away from several of Springfield's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Springfield At Monarch Place Hotel Springfield
Sheraton Monarch Place
Springfield Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing