We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How can an Italian restaurant have lousy sauce and meatballs?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Leone's Restaurant

Leone's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 330 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Allen Street
Transit: There is a bus stop @ 5 Town Plaza off Allen Street.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“How can an Italian restaurant have lousy sauce and meatballs?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I usually enjoy Leone's Restaurant in Springfield, but my last luncheon visit was a disaster. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs..
The dish was cold and had to be sent back..When it came back the meatballs were warm, not hot....The meatballs had no flavor, no garlic, no grated cheese or seasonings could be tasted. The angel hair pasta was over cooked. And the marinara sauce did not taste home made. it did not even taste, "out of the jar, doctored up to taste homemade"...Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tonuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHN L, Owner at Leone's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
tonuch, I want to appologize for your lunch experience you had at our restaurant .
I checked to see who your server was on the date you had posted but was unable to verify
who your server was and to find out why your food was cold?. if it was different than what you had posted please give me a call at 413-783-3398. Also i just wanted to let you know we make every order fresh nothing is reheated. Our meatballs are made right in the restaurant for many years and are usually very well liked, as is our marinara sauce. We do use the best ingredients for everything we make here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is one of my very favorites! The food here is absolutely out of this world! My husband and I always bring family and friends here when we are thinking of a good place to go out to for dinner! The waitstaff is excellent, the outdoor area is very nice and covered, and the food is great! Can't ask for better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaerin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best pizza ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Their entire menu is fantastic homemade style cooking. BUT I can't not order the pizza. It is awesome. Always cooked perfectly but the flavor is unlike anywhere else. We go often and 9 out of 10 visits we have the pizza.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The atmosphere was quiet, which I look for, rather than the noisy sports bar crowd. The food is good, plentiful, and reasonable. You dont leave hungry, and the service has always been top notch! Cant say enough about it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vipermoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great friendly place, great food & drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Looking for place for lunch and found this great spot. Started with Mexican Coffee which sounds wrong in an Italian restaurant but they were right on this brisk afternoon. Antipasta looked good for a start. What a spread! It turned out to be our meal along with bread dipped in olive oil and seasonings. Next came dessert of a Nutty Irishman, Irish Coffee and a fantastic cannoli. Service was very friendly. May not be able to pass by without stopping!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToxeyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leone's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Leone's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing