We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience”

Chef Wayne's Big Mamou
Ranked #3 of 329 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a quiet Tuesday night on Springfield, but this place was buzzing!
Service was prompt, friendly & super-efficient. Only one waitress was serving but she had the place running like a well oiled machine.
Food was just excellent, nothing flash or pretentious, just good home southern cooking. My husband enjoyed the House Jambalaya & I had a rice, cheese & pork meatball pasta dish off the specials menu. Both were delicious.
I would definitely eat here again, fabulous place, and great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    61
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I always visit this restaurant when my daughter comes home from college as it is her favorite and ours too! The atmosphere is fun, you can bring your own bottle of wine, and the food is absolutely fabulous! There are sometimes long waits for a table, but the people who work here and also visit are so friendly, you don't mind waiting....love this place!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24capecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is such a great place to come and get a good dinner. I love spicy food, so it's perfect that all of the entrees have a little kick to them. The only downside for me is the size of the restaurant, so it's often very crowded and there are long waits at dinner time. It's also BYOB which saves you $$!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 83JessicaM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Expect a wait”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been going to Big Mamou in Springfiled since it opened. The food has always been good and the wait is usually 30 minutes or longer due to the restaurant being on the small side. It is a BYOB establishment which makes it a more affordable night out. The service has always been outstanding. I recommend to get there when the place opens for dinner if you do not want to wait for a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BooYa!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

If you want a place with great service go somewhere else, but if you want phenomenal Cajun food like the time you spent in New Orleans or not then come to Chef Wayne's Big Mamou!
The dishes are prepared like those in some 5 star restaurants. There's no alcohol on the menu except for cooking purposes but they allow BYOB.
Can't say enough about the flavor except Whoo Doggy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Wayne's Big Mamou also viewed

 

Been to Chef Wayne's Big Mamou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing