We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even in this old, somewhat tired city, there are some gems!”

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room
Ranked #5 of 330 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, German, European, Central European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Even in this old, somewhat tired city, there are some gems!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First of all, I love German food, so when I visited The Student Prince Cafe and The Fort Dining Room for lunch and saw the word FAMOUS next to the Sauerbraten (German: "sour roast") on their menu, I just had to tried it and it was exceptional. Served with the traditional red cabbage the only thing I really wanted was a little Spätzle (German noodles) on the side. It is worth a drive to try. For dessert, I noticed the word FAMOUS next to their strawberry cheese cake and that did not disappoint! The Student Prince Cafe was opened on September 24, 1935 and my guess is that the dining room looked the same 75+ years ago as it does today (and I like that)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    114
    39
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The family always enjoys The Student Prince”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We come to this restaurant several times a year. If you like German food you will love this place. Everything is authentic and the German beers and wines are great as well.

Helpful?
Thank travelman413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tune it up!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

No point in emoting any more about the beer, the steins, the delft, etc., so we'll stick to the food: The kalbshaxe or veal shank is actually a half-portion ($32) since it is split down the middle. The meat is not cooked long enough to develop flavor (if it has any) and the texture is therefore chewy instead of tender. The gravy is not dark brown and savory like it should be, probably prepared seprately from the meat. Sauerkraut is over the top with the sugar. Spaetzle had cheese in it to throw off the authentic taste of the dish. No pumpernickel bread. Time before this the Schnitzel was fried in some lousy oil. Time before that the Jaeger Schnitzel was so creamed up you couldn't make out the flavor of the veal or mushrooms. These people absolutely know better than this- their father would thump them good. Why depreciate the food like this? The place is a staple and should be maintained accordingly. The wait staff and hosts are great. C'mon, get with it again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripjktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Springfield's last downtown classic”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a regular diner at this last remaining iconic dining monument in downtown Springfield, I can't add much to what has already been said: this is simply the last of a breed that will hopefully endure. There is no more cordial establishment for business or pleasure downtown, excepting a private club, with a classic German centered menu including many non-German classics as well. It is hard to be disappointed here, exemplifying the German "Gemuetlichkeit", or coziness and being at ease that oozes from this place. At lunch, the breaded pork tenderloin is a terrific value and prepared so similarly to the authentic Viennese schnitzel that one is hard pressed to discern the difference between the use of pork or veal for the classic original. Many sausages are homemade, and the special seasonal soups and availability of game dishes in February are welcome in this gray season. Service is prompt and pleasant, and of course Rudy is always the genial host. Unlike so many trends that come and go, this is a bastion of tradition: may it live on forever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLongmeadow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This local institution, a German restaurant founded in 1935, is a must-go destination in downtown Springfield, MA (which is sadly lacking in destination eateries.) The ambiance is utterly unique (beer stein and plate collection lining all the walls; lots of boisterous people filling the place) and the food is excellent. We went there recently after picking a friend up at the nearby train station, and it was a hit with everyone. Our server was a bit pushy, to the point of obnoxiousness -- trying to sell us on more and more drinks, and refusing to believe that we just didn't want to have dessert -- but other than that, it was great fun to eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_M_147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing