We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good German Food”

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room
Ranked #5 of 330 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, German, European, Central European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
New Lebanon, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Good German Food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were in Springfield today and had heard about the Student Prince and how wonderful it was. Decided to try it for our 42nd anniversary dinner. We were not disappointment about everything we had heard... Charming, Stepped back in time. Service was exceptional, food well prepared and served in a timely fashion. We're planning more trips to Springfield to check out other attractions and to return to the Student Prince.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnieHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    114
    39
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It never changes and is always fun, particularly around the holiday. Great beer and food. The carved tables take you back to old times. The only negative is parking in a less than great neighborhood, but still worth this one thing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CT_Triptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food Old School atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food here is very good but you have to enjoy this type of food old school german. Busy saturday night the hostess is not the friendliest and a smile would be nice. Also you have to get there early for the specials we were lucky enough to get there early for the duck which is excellent if you like duck not sure why it is not a mainstay on the menu. The fried cheese is out of this world but not something that your doctor would appreciate - nice treat once in awhile. The stuffed mushrooms reminded me more of escargot than mushroom so good if you like escargot. Potatoe pancakes were a little flat. The salad with the house dressing is very good as long as you like the blue cheese. The food is very good old school and the building makes you feel like you are going back in time. As for the beer well what to say afterall it is a German restaurant so great beers. One of those places that is just a fun time and seems to bring you back in time worth the trip not a place to go often but fun once in awhile for sure with a big group and clearly great during October!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
463 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

To start with the positive: The wait staff is working hard to overcompensate for what seems to be missing in this "once great" restaurant. Kudos to them as this is often not the situation. The restaurant needs some updating and something needs to be done with the restrooms asap. In the past, this restaurant has had every thing in perfect order but this was not the case on this visit. The dishes (Sauerbraten and Jagerschnitzel) which my companion and I ordered were covered with an acidic gravy sauce which was not easy on the palate. Others in my group were distressed over the complete lack of preparation by the restaurant. Perhaps, it is better to go here when you want to have a late evening full of German fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We used to go to this restaurant when I wanted liver and onions. My meal was terrible.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Extra Charge for one piece of bacon. Wasn't cows liver it was chicken pieces. We were so rushed to finish our meal I didn't even finish one beer. We had apps tO dessert and out in less than one hour. If I have decided to pay top prices for my meal. I want to enjoy. Not to mention enjoy the company of friends. Will not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing