We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST hotel I have EVER stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

DO NOT EVER EVER EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL! It is not worth the risk of absolute DISASTER! We stayed at La Quinta with a college group for the 2014 MAAC Basketball Tournament spending over $3,000 for aprox. 20 rooms over three nights. From the minute we got there the front desk staff was short, rude, and unaccommodating. The pinnacle of disaster was when all 20 rooms over three floors of the hotel were locked out at 7pm on a Sunday night because "the batteries died in the locks" OF EVER DOOR! Our kids spent over an hour sitting on the floor of the hallway waiting to be let into their rooms via manual card override by the one maintenance man they had on duty. I asked to speak with the owner (who I had to deal with the day before because of other issues) and the young man at the desk, while leaning on the counter scrolling through his phone, said there was nothing they could do and to try back at 9am the next day when a manager was there. Don't take the risk of being locked out of your room with an unsympathetic staff. Rooms are TINY, bathroom is microscopic, staff is horrendous. Never ever staying here again. I am sure we will take our 3k weekend business elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
6  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the negative experience that you encountered on your second night but we appreciate your feedback. We also appreciate your business and wished that this issue could have been resolved in a timely manner. However, the reason why your keys did not function properly was because you extended your stay and due to that, we were never given the chance to re program your keys. We understand that having a team or any guest waiting to enter their room in unacceptable, but please understand that it takes time to reprogram 20 rooms worth of keys. In that moment, our staff figured that it would be easier to let the team in their rooms manually while the Front Desk finished programming all of the keys. In regards to the staff attitude, we will address this in our next meeting to make sure that all of our guests are receiving a high level of hospitality. If you have any questions or concerns, or you would simply like to speak on your experience, please contact the hotel and ask for the Front Office Manager. Again we apologize that your experience was not up to your expectations. Thank You for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 602 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Attleboro, Massachusetts
13
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Everything was great except the breakfast was on the disappointing side. Not much selection, and meatless on a Sunday morning. The staff were friendly, helpful, and nice to deal with. The view was really nice from the 10th floor, and the bar served good mixed drinks at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Front desk person who took my reservation and checked me in was very friendly and efficient. Overnight person who found a remote for me (but why was there no remote in the room?) was friendly and brought it up immediately.
Bathroom floor looked like it had not been vacuumed/mopped (movable dirt on the floor), rack that held towels was dusty enough to write you name in, areas that had ice machines had dirty floors and someone needs to go through halls and fix wall covering where it is starting to peel.
Breakfast staff (I think there were 4 people) were overwhelmed - dirty tables, empty fruit bowl and no ice water.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HospitalityTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time in providing us with great feedback. The issues that you encountered in regards to the remote and the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom and ice machine are unusual and we apologize. Here at La Quinta, our staff works hard to make sure that all of our guest experience a clean and relax environment. We will make sure that we address these issues to the appropriate department so it does not happen again. Thank you for your time and for choosing La Quinta Springfield MA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a nice hotel at a reasonable price! Staff was very courteous and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable! I'd definitely go back if traveling to Springfield again. Always traveling on a budget for business travel and this was a great value!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank 355janeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
East Freetown, Massachusetts
1
Reviewed February 25, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed a weekend with the kids for a sightseeing tour of Springfield. We do this regularly but have stayed at the Sheraton or Marriott. This year I decided to try and save a buck and took a chance on La Quinta - who I know little about except their good reviews. Luckily, their good reviews are well founded.

The hotel is kept clean and is obviously newly renovated. It is up to date looking, carpets are all in good shape, paint job is nice and the room furniture is excellent. The beds are very comfy with upper quality blankets and sheets. The bathroom is granite and tile.

We stayed in the Exec Suite which gave us a little more room and a sofa bed for the kids. The room was very large - though that made the TV very far from the bed and the TV size was not big. The sofa bed was actually usable (sometimes at other hotels the sofa beds are so uncomfortable that we wind up with the kids in our beds anyway!) Exec suite also includes a mini fridge and kitchenette area.

We were on the 8th floor and we hoped for a view but we had a room facing away from downtown/river, so it wasn't much to look at :)

Breakfast is a hot meal and well done. First morning was scrambled eggs, bacon, hot waffles, choice of cereals, cheese danish, choice of juices, choice of toasts, yogurts. Next day was cheese omelet, hash browns, waffles, etc. It was well stocked and although there were a lot of guests it is well laid out and spacious enough to not be too claustrophobic.

The wife and kids did the pool (I was too tired from driving) but reported it was large and clean and nice.

Check in and out was a breeze and staff was courteous and helpful. At one point we asked the check in counter for an extra blanket for the sofa bed and it arrived at our door only about 5 minutes later. Great!

The only complaint I can come up with is that the walls are a bit thin. The first night we went to bed we could hear some young men next door laughing and talking for about an hour. It was quite noticeable to both my wife and I. We figured it was just high spirits. The next day though there was a mature couple talking at normal voice next door. They weren't yelling or anything, just talking. I wonder if their bed-board is right up against the same wall...

Frankly, that wasn't that big a deal to me, and overall we were very, very happy with the stay. We will probably do them again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TegansDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in providing us with such lengthy and detailed feedback. It is feedback from guest like you that we continue to improve in various aspects. We are truly glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at La Quinta Springfield MA. With our "Here for You" philosophy, our staff makes sure that all of our guest leave our hotel with positive memorable experiences. Again, thank you for your time and for choosing La Quinta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Square Hotel Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield

Address: 100 Congress St, Springfield, MA 01104-3461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: $96 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel, Massachusetts is the ideal location for family fun or a business excursion. Located at the junction of I-91 and I-291 in Downtown Springfield (the only hotel in downtown with free parking), guests are just minutes away from some of Western Massachusetts greatest claims to fame: Dr. Seuss Memorial Sculpture Garden, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, and Six Flags New England. Not here for fun? We hope you'll find some time to enjoy and let loose. Smith & Wesson, MassMutual, Big Y, Hasbro and Friendly's corporate offices are just minutes from the hotel. A long day must be started on the right foot! Here at La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel, we will treat you to our free Bright Side Breakfast that include hot fresh Belgian Waffles, each morning in our tranquil breakfast and lounge area. Prefer to burn a few calories before breakfast? We have just the place for you! Treat yourself to a dip in our pool or a quick cardio routine in our fitness center. No matter how you get your morning started, we will help you get the day going right.If you find yourself having to do some work while here, our 24-hour business center has a desktop computer, printer, and free high speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Every day must end; so let it end on a high note. Grab dinner at one of our area's great restaurants, like Theodore's, 350 Grill or Uno's Chicago Grille, or snag a cocktail after work in our lounge. When you're done, retreat to your modern and comfortable guest room for some rest and relaxation.La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield, MA will be in your dreams! Fresh breakfast, luxurious beds, and a great fun-filled location. What more could you want for your family vacation or business trip? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing