We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocked How Much There Is To Do”

Springfield Museums
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Springfield Museums, located in the heart of downtown Springfield, Massachusetts, is comprised of four world-class museums covering art, history, and science, plus the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shocked How Much There Is To Do”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When I first looked up this location online I figured it would good for a few hours of entertaining my daughter and her friends (aged 3-7). We spent the entire day at the various museums. Virtually every building has something age appropriate for someone their age, and they can spend a good amount of time at each one. This was even in the winter, where we really couldn't spend much time at the Dr Seuss sculpture because there was snow everywhere at it was freezing. One price gets your into every building in the quadrangle and it is well worth it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KosherConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    99
    35
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading advertisement”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Attention non-springfield residences. This add is NOT true and will NOT be honoured. One must purchase a $15.00 admission first and then can pay $3.00 to get into the planetarium. Please be aware of this inconvenience as it certainly ruined my afternoon plans.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western MA/Upstate NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Its a science museum. A little bit of everything in a small sized building. Its not NYC or Boston, but its fun nonetheless. Definitely worth a membership if you are a local resident

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MDHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Place to Bring Your Family”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was a little small for a museum, but it had a lot of neat exhibits and fun things to look at. The staff were extremely helpful and nice. Our 11 month old daughter had a wonderful time at the gingerbread house competition. The decorations were beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank violinliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best value & a true hidden gem”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

At $15 per adult which grant you entrance to 4-5 museums, you can't beat the value. If anything, we wished they sell a 2-day pass so we could visit a couple of museums on a Sat and finish the rest on Sun. At the end, we only had time to visit the Natural Science museum and the Art museum loaded with very interesting Japanese/Chinese and Egyptian artifacts. The Dr Seuss Garden is also whimsical. We enjoyed it even though we didn't have little kids with us. All in all, a real hidden gem.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MROMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield Museums also viewed

 

Been to Springfield Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing