We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fanciful and Fitting Tribute!”

Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Bring the kids to this outdoor sculpture garden where the Cat in the Hat, the Grinch, and other beloved Dr. Seuss characters are immortalized in bronze, life-size statues all designed by Geisel's step-daughter, sculptor Lark Grey Dimond-Cates.
San Antonio, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Fanciful and Fitting Tribute!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Those who learned to read with Horton, The Cat in the Hat, and Yertle the Turtle must visit this tribute to the wonderful Dr. Seuss! The sculptures are spread out amongst the grounds of several museums -- perhaps good "bait" to get little ones to experience a visit to a museum. The only criticism I have is that some of the plaques accompanying the statues had either been defaced, or allowed to weather past being completely readable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    98
    36
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great sculpture park! Loved the statues. Very clean and easy to find. Took lots of pictures. If you are traveling with kids, you need to stop and see this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank paisley201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great for the kids...”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Even the grownups enjoyed the sculpture garden.. Worth seeing. We saw the art museum as well... Springfield has a very nice collection.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaotebaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been a fan of Dr. Seuss since I was a child and have passed the love for his books on to my daughter. This isn't an extensive park but we so enjoyed seeing and taking photos with the characters from the Dr. Seuss books we've so enjoyed. There is one main larger statue are featuring several characters with the Lorax and Yertle the Turtle in a separate area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KAS_QU_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just a quick stop in the Quadrangle.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Cute sculptures. Little kids will appreciate it. Nice place for a picnic. Connects to museums, so you can't help but visit if your checking everything else out why not stop by?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCT354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing