We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious, but very loud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Typical Sicilian Ristorante

Typical Sicilian Ristorante
Ranked #32 of 330 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The owner, Claudia, could not have been more accommodating. The food both gluten free (no wheat, rye barley) and regular meals were excellent. The The grilled articholk
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“delicious, but very loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The space is very small, no place to put yourself if you are waiting for a table. Big bar area, loads of people eating, tough to get a drink. The food was delicious--veal parm, tuna, mussels--all delicious--would highly recommend if you don't mind waiting, and not being able to have a conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, but loud.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Since our last visit Typical Sicilian changed their layout - increasing the size of the bar at the expense of the dining area.
This may have been the right choice for them, but it doesn't work for me. The bar was buzzing the Friday evening we were there. Many people were eating at the bar and folks were standing two or three deep around it waiting for seats (there or in the dining area).
The problem is that the main dining area is not separated from the bar area by a wall or any distance. There is a small room at the back of the restaurant with two tables, but the rest of the tables are in the same larger room as the bar. While it is great to see everyone having fun, if you are there for a relaxing meal and conversation forget it. I found the acoustics to be so bad that I could barely hear the conversation at our table for four and I probably missed 50% of what was said while we were standing by the bar. Yeah, I am getting older and my hearing is no longer the best, but this was much worse than usual.
Perhaps they can put some baffles or other sound deadening device up, but until then, despite our highly satisfying meals ( I really loved the lamb chops - as good as I have ever had) Typical Sicilian will not be at the top of my list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RCEWP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Abbondanza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

There are several good Italian restaurants in the Pioneer Valley. This one was great! We had heard about it for some time but this was our first visit. The artichoke Francaise appetizer was unique and savory. The linguine with fresh clams was generous and perfectly prepared. My husband's Bolognaise was excellent. They serve the salad dressings separately - a burgundy vinaigrette and a Gorgonzola, both exceptionally good. Service was attentive and sincere - our servers really seemed to care about our satisfaction. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mydeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fabulous neighborhood gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food here is by far some of the best italian food around, homemade sauces, fabulous menu selections and amazing waitstaff. the bartenders nate and stephania are great.
Make sure you order something with their "typical sauce" on it you won't be disappointed!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krissymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Typical Sicilian has really great, fresh food and excellent gluten free options. The portions are very large for the price so you get a lot for your money. The service was very good and there's a great atmosphere at this establishment. Definitely going back again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prodiner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Typical Sicilian Ristorante also viewed

 
Springfield, MA
Springfield, MA
 

Been to Typical Sicilian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing