We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the history!”

Springfield Armory National Historic Site
Ranked #4 of 41 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Armory, which manufactured and tested firearms for the U.S. military from 1794 to 1968, houses the country's largest collection of small weapons. While the first floor is free, there's a fee for the second floor, which displays rare weapons and the largest collection of Confederate weapons anywhere.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the history!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great place to visit. I'm not big into guns, but my son is. The history of the Springfield Armory is very interesting. It is a well run museum and I'm happy we stopped there to check it out.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Staci70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For WW II collectors this is heaven”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Learn all about how Springfield was George Washington's armory and then how the Armory made the country's military guns through the next 200 years

Helpful?
Thank DoctorFoodDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice collection”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The friendly and helpful staff helped make this a great visit. Our young children enjoyed hands on activities like puzzles, dress ups, and making the rescue cannon with one of the helpful rangers. Definitely watch the short movie to set the context for your visit. The collection is very impressive. A few displays could have used a bit more explanation for better understanding.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Step into History!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and stepson (age 11) really loved visiting the armory. They had every question answered by warm, knowledgeable volunteers, and felt that they had stepped back in time.

Helpful?
1 Thank michlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bang Bang”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am not a gun collector or a gun supporter but my family wanted to stop by. Wow, was I impressed with what once was manufactured from that site in the 1900's. The gun collection is massive and if you are interested in guns a must do!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank melaniep0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield Armory National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Springfield Armory National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing