We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and smelled”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoo in Forest Park

Zoo in Forest Park
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This zoo, featuring over 200 exotic and domestic animals, was the inspiration for Dr. Seuss and his stories. Dedicated to wildlife education, the zoo provides educational programs for children and adults.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cramped and smelled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

It amazed me they had so much crammed into one part of the park and then had numerous empty pins. It was more like a petting zoo on steriods. Not worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingknutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little zoo!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great time visiting all the animals. Lots of different kinds that you don't always see. You could get very close to the animals for a good look and all the kids could see. There were even babies that were born at the zoo. Very cute and the park itself has more to offer... gardens, playgrounds, a splash pad and pool. Not sure about fees for that. But there was a little train that takes you around the grounds. A bit pricey...$4 per person..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for Kids of all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was impressed with the zoo not like a big city zoo. This is smaller hands on for kids but very well run and a volunteer group that works to make things interesting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo7151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very small ~ Zoo needs help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This zoo was very small - kind of depressing for an adult, but young children enjoyed it since it is more like a petting zoo. I would suggest going here just to help the zoo out, or send a donation, these animals need much more room to live.
It was a decent way to pass an hour or two on a nice day... the two youngest (2 & 5) loved it, they were able to get so close & touch so many animals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank elliveryas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My 3 year old Grandson thought this was a great place to visit, parents and grandma agreed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The zoo has environmental friendly enclosures for the animals. The zoo was much larger than I remember when my own children were young. The animals all seemed safe and comfortable in the enclosures. This was an exciting place to visit even though the weather was very hot. There was water available in the zoo for cooling off. I want to go again when the weather is cooler so that I can stay longer.
Forest Park is a wonderful attraction in the city of Springfield. Yes, there's an admission fee, but they do offer a one year pass for a nominal price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo in Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Zoo in Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing