We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy Day Fun”

Basketball Hall of Fame
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the town where basketball was invented, this 48,000-square-foot museum has three levels of exhibits on the history and heroes of the game and gives visitors a chance to participate in skill contests.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rainy Day Fun”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Super clean, modern and well kept...just much smaller then I had expected. Would have loved to have seen more memorabilia from current NBA teams. Expensive for what you get to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdventureFamilyOfFiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    163
    87
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not what I remember”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Took my two boys here this week. Was not as good as remember when I was a kid. The michael Jordan movie area was hard to see. I mean with today's technology come on. Also all the other monitors seem outdated. The place just seems old and needs updating. Great history and worth a stop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmax32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Is it free or not?”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

When we got here, we were walking around the hall trying to figure out where to get tickets. We saw a ticket counter that we thought was for the movie theater, but we did not want to watch a movie, so we kept walking. Then, someone asked if we were looking for the entrance and we said yes. He took our picture at a green screen holding a basketball and then invited us in.

Once inside, we took the elevator to the top and walked down. Lots of reading plaques here. My 10 year old didn't have the patience for that. There were some interactive exhibits but on the day we were there, there were a few kids that just hogged them the whole time. But the time we got to the bottom floor for the shoot around, they had closed it and set up a (really lame) magic show (?) for a camp group. My kids loved the cheesy magic show, but we were all disappointed not to get to shoot hoops.

On the way out, I finally saw the place where you buy tickets. Hmm. Not sure it's worth the price they were charging.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FostytheGrinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed it”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went for a little trip up to Springfield to see the Hall of Fame. The place is beautiful but you have to get thru the total disregard that some of the other companies that share the facility have for the venue. The CVB has an information facility that looks like no one has used in months. Old brochures scattered about, dirty and nothing worth taking.

The Hall of Fame is very nice. The dome is very impressive and the history of the sport was great. Definitely visit but grab lunch or dinner somewhere else

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingknutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good overview of basketball make sure and check the schedule for center court restrictions”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I happened to check the website the day before we went and saw that the center court was going to be closed for most of the day. We went early and got to shoot around on the center court and participate in a free throw contest. Also on center count you can shoot in a variety of baskets going back to the beginning of basketball. Also can dunk on hoops ranging from 6 to 9 feet.

The third floor is a lot of reading of the players/coaches/contributors that have been inducted into the hall of fame.

I agree on the interactive displays not much of that...would be nice if there was more of that and would keep the girls more interested. The boys and I watched several short videos of the Celtics and Bulls.

Free parking and there is chain food available there separate from the hall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHawksAnkenyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basketball Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Basketball Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing