We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable for Skagway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Sitka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westmark Sitka Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Coupeville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable for Skagway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently close to the center of town.It is showing signs of wear.
The beds are fine and the rooms are clean.The front desk staff is another story.
I was not even greeted while approaching the front desk .
Two female employees were to busy arguing about who turn it was to take a break.
After being ignored for quite sometime ,I tossed the keys on the desk and turned and walked out the door. .Neither them said a word .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
22
41
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've long heard about Westmark and thought I'd be in for "over the top". Not so much. The location is as handy dandy as possible. We had a room with a harbor view - loved that. the beds were the "heavenly" version - with 4 great pillows per bed - and I could have stayed tucked in forever. But that's not the point of being in Sitka :) We booked our final night in Sitka here because the lovely VRBO we stayed at for the prior 3 nights was booked, and, having an airport shuttle was an amenity that was a plus. Granted the airport is a hop, skip and jump away (we walked from the airport upon our arrival), but it was worth it. We didn't eat at the hotel. Small fridge in room, bathroom a bit tired, but just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbor view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryceville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here instead of at the fishing lodge. Close to all interest in town. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was a buffet and is good but variety would be appreciated. Same thing every morning is getting old. We are dinner here the first night, the burgers were great and again the service was good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskeywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Westmark use to be a nice hotel with a good restaurant. It has become seedy along with having bad service. There virtually was no service in the bar. The locals said not to eat at the hotel restaurant because they were between cooks and couldn't keep a good one. I asked the desk clerk if the hotel shuttle could run me over to the drug store to get some Benadryl for my friend who was staying at the hotel. He was experiencing a sever allergic reaction to some medication he had taken. It was poring down rain outside. The clerk said no its our policy to only drive back and forth to the airport. She said I would have to get a cab. She didn't offer to call one for me. The Alaska spirit is dead at the Westmark.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Ak
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Room was overpriced for the quality. We booked one night, then we were traveling to a remote cabin for a week and had booked a second night at the end of the week returning from the cabin. However, the float plane that was to pick us up at the cabin was delayed two days due to poor weather so we tried to cancel our reservation at the Westmark. They did not honor our cancellation because it did not meet their 24 hour cancellation policy, even after I explained it was due to the float plane. I asked if they would give us a credit towards a future stay and they said no! I couldn't believe that they would take my money and be so unprofessional. Will certainly never stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel has seen better days. The room smelled moldy. (Sheets were clean!) Customer service is very poor. One person in our party had an allergic reaction and requested a ride to a local pharmacy. Request was denied! Front desk did not even offer to call a taxi. We will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a month on business. The room was clean and bright, with a nice flat screen tv. Nice updated bathroom with good quality towels and toiletries. The hallway smelled old and musty, but the room didn't...so that was nice. Great central location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joel907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.2 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Sitka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Sitka Hotel

Property: Westmark Sitka Hotel
Address: 330 Seward Street, Sitka, AK 99835
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Sitka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westmark Sitka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Hotel Sitka
Westmark Sitka Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing