We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Sitka Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive motel”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was warned not to expect too much accommodation-wise in Alaska. And in that sense the Westmark didn't disappoint. A rate of $159 for what was essentially a motel in terms of creature comforts is inappropriate ... And this was the discounted 'fisherman only' rate. Yes I lied. We missed the late checkout time of noon by 10' and so charged $50. Goodness. Very convenient though to the wharf. But I suspect all of Sitka is. The good news, the rooms were well-heated. But the mattresses need some firming up.

Room Tip: Say you're fishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
23
43
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for conference with my family. They charged 20/day for crib. When I complained they reimbursed me 20 total for three days. Staff seemed put out to have to deal with my kids.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTNDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

After having a disagreement with another hotel chain in Sitka, I called the Westmark and they solved my problem, booked the rooms I needed and treated us like long lost family. The beds were excellent, the service people absolutely outstanding. They have a lounge room where you can sit and visit and they will bring in drinks or you can eat there and entertain without being in your hotel room. I highly recommend this as a PREMERE for a Sitka hotel.

Room Tip: Pet rooms have double beds, but they are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Arrived and there are only 10 parking spaces and the street around it gives tickets for being parked on it between 4am - 7am. Internet service very slow and unprotected computer. Room was clean, but temperature varies throughout the day -- even if you set the Tstat and keep curtains closed. Refrigerators make a high pitched noise when they try to recool. Resteraunt is closed when no busy and have to eat in the bar. Service was loosy -- took 15 minutes to be served water and asked what I would like to drink. I had studied the menu and the chicken fried steak said very tender choice cut of meat --nah, far from it -- tough and grissley, nasty! Completed eating what I could and sat for another 10 min before was asked if I was done and would I like anything else... told her no and that was the worst chicken fried steak I had ever eaten. Oh yeah, it was two pieces or curled up meat as well, not the usual flat piece of meat.. All she could say, was we can give you a complimentary dessert -- well they are all egg based desserts and I am allergic to eggs. Really stunk -- will never stay or eat here again.
There are more hotels with plenty of parking and resteraunts attached! Better views too!

Room Tip: Dont' stay here -- unless you want to be downtown and without a car ---walking only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Anywhere else in the world I'd probably rate this Westmark average, but by Alaska standards it's better than that. Fairly dated, strange layout, but with apparently continual remodels, there is nothing at all wrong with it. Check out/in was easy, room small'ish but functional, nicely updated bath. Your choices in Sitka for a nice place to stay is here or the Shee Atika. The Shee Atika is newer with better parking, the Westmark is in a more convenient part of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel alot over the years, but with the remodeled rooms it is now a very enjoyable stay. the bed was very comfy and I like the big flatscreen TV. the staff is great as ever.If only they could do something with the parking. the next time I'm back in Sitka I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the waterside for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I spent two weeks in this hotel for a business trip. Good service, Clean, Friendly. Only reason they didn't get 5 out of 5 is there was no fridge or microwave in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.2 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.9 mi away
Alaska Ocean View Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Sitka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Sitka Hotel

Property: Westmark Sitka Hotel
Address: 330 Seward St, Sitka, AK 99835-7523
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Sitka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Westmark Sitka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Hotel Sitka
Westmark Sitka Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing